ONE OF THE ADVICE THAT SHAPED MY LIFE

I am grateful for my neighbor's advice, which has helped shape who I am now. I enjoy comparing other people's opinions with mine to choose which course of action will work best for me.

The COVID-19 pandemic struck when I was in school. There were travel restrictions at the time, but some states were free from restrictions which my state is part of. In those states, there is still no freedom to drive or go to the market, but you are still free to open businesses and go about your daily business, unlike some states where there is no freedom for anything at all.

IMG_20201112_164015_1.jpg

I had a neighbor, who is a male fashion designer he specialized in men's apparel, he suggested that instead of spending my days sleeping at home, I should be coming to his shop and learning from him so that I could know more about the skill

The simplest way to describe myself is to sleep, in fact, at the time, sleeping was my middle name. The only thing I understood how to do well was sleep since we were unable to move from one state to another, which was frustrating. I gave his advice some thinking, and I believe it will have a positive impact.

One attribute that I love about myself is that I always do things to the best of my ability. He didn't force me; rather, he offered his advice because we were uncertain of when the pandemic would end and he wanted me to avoid being alone at home

I took his advice and decided to join him in his shop with the idea of learning anything from him. I intended to go there and understand the fundamentals of making dresses so that I could mend my clothes whenever I needed to.

My initial plan was to learn the basic concepts from him, but as I progressed, he saw how passionate I was about the skill and decided to teach me more and more. He was very strict with me and chose to take me under his tutelage, giving me the shop keys and ample opportunity to resume work.

I felt better that I followed his advice to learn from him, even if he did not charge me for it. I had assumed that it was just something I did to pass the time when I was bored, but it was more than that. I became more interested in it and learned more about it. He also provided me the opportunity to practice every day

This was really helpful to me because I've been the one to sew for my brothers whenever I have free time, and I also make the majority of my dresses that are related to men's clothing, I have no knowledge of women's clothing and don't show any interest in it because I don't think I could handle it; it takes time to learn about women's clothing, but making men's clothing doesn't.

After the pandemic, I bought a sewing machine, which I have kept with my mother. I use it whenever I visit her and sew clothes for my nephew. I'm happy that I heeded his advice without hesitation.

IMG_20210126_092404_592.jpg

IMG_20210524_155824_548.jpg

IMG_20210527_142616_426.jpg

I left his shop after the pandemic since school had resumed, but we still keep in touch and I value his work and advice, which motivates me to keep going. Even though I don't have my own shop, I know that I still make some people happy by making wear for them, which helps them save money.

NOTE:- ALL THE PICTURES ARE MINE

This is my entry for this week's episode of the hive-learners community prompt of #hl-w97e3 which is tagged "RIPPLE THROUGH TIME"

20231004_082714_0000.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center