sᴛʀᴇᴇᴛ ʜᴀᴡᴋᴇʀs || ᴀ ʙᴀɴᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀ ɴᴏɪsᴇʟᴇss sᴏᴄɪᴇᴛʏ.

Depending on the kind of country each individual hail from, there are some kind of abnormalities that doesn't seem abnormal anymore because we have frequently been exposed to it, so we don't see anything wrong with it anymore but this doesn't apply to me. Example of such abnormalities is noise pollution, there are a lot of things common in different areas in Lagos State or Nigeria in general. the most most common are street hawkers, individuals who advertise and sell their products on the street, either carrying it with a tray on their head or with a wheelbarrow but the worst of them all are those who hawk with loud speakers on their shoulders.

Source
In my street for instance, street hawkers were few which was a little bearable but these days it is beyond our control, the chairman of our street employed different tactics to keep this people out of our street but it is not effective enough. the reason behind the increasing numbers of street hawkers is due to the economy hardship in Nigeria, which has made life a living hell for a lot people. the only way some people could cope with this hardship is to venture into the street and hawk items. we all understand the need for this, at least they need to find ways to feed themselves but it is becoming too much.

Those that make use of microphones and speakers are the ones who made it so unbearable. in the afternoon around 12:00pm, the noises of this street hawkers will just be coming from different angles. taking a nap is just impossible around this time or else you have found a way to make your house sound proof.

There was a particular day, I was already asleep when the noise started, i was having malaria which seem to enhance the way the noise echoed in my head, I already knew the cause of it but the thing about this street hawkers is that they are always on the move, so the more they move away from the vicinity the noise becomes less potent but on this particular day, I was patiently waiting for the noise to pass by but it did not, I kept waiting but it was still the same so I decided to go outside the gate and see what was going on what I saw was so annoying.

As soon as I opened the gate, I saw two street hawkers in front of the gate, I guess due to the hot sunshine they decided to rest under the shade created by our gate which was fine by me but what was not fine by me was the fact that they kept their speakers on. instead of them turning off the speaker while they rest they didn't. I got outside seeing what was going on, I was no longer in control of my emotions, I nearly kicked that speaker just shut it up and the funny thing about this speaker is that, it keeps repeating the same recorded voices, which could drive a person insane.

One of the street hawkers quickly dodged the speaker from me, we got into an argument, while my neighbours also stepped out to settle the matter. they were also waiting for the street hawkers to pass by I guess I was the first to respond. ever since then I don't allow anyone of them to sit in front our gate. as much as I wish this could stop I have no control over it because some of the residents of our street, my neighbours also engage in street hawking, so it is not only outsiders only.



This is one the reasons why I detest Lagos State, though street hawking is common in Nigeria but there are some areas were street hawking is not allowed. even if they are going to hawk they should not make use of loud speakers that will disturb the peace of mind of those residing in the area but you know some Nigerians, they don't really care about what others think as long as it is beneficial to them other people's opinions don't matter.

If only this act could be regulated, then we might have a noiseless street and society once again.



This write-up was inspired by weekly featured content titled "Noise pollution" in hive learners community.



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now