I didn’t like it , but now I’m grateful.

The best of all the blessings in disguise that has happened to me was my admission into an affiliated school, what is the meaning of an affiliated school.

An affiliated school is an educational institution that operates independently, but also has a formal collaborative agreement with another, usually larger institution that may have some level of control or influence over its academic policies, standards, or programs. source

768F1B5E-7874-44A1-AA65-94EC1296BA48.jpeg

Securing admission to a university was a bit of a struggle for me. After my WAEC(West Africa Examination Council), I sat for my NECO (National Examination Council) and sat for JAMB (Joint Admission Examination Board), the same year, for jamb I used (awaiting result), it means my O’ level result is not yet out.

The result came out and though my WAEC results weren’t that good, my NECO was manageable. So I used my NECO result. During my jamb registration I chose the University of Ilorin as my first choice and one state university as my second choice because, then I really love to be a student of University of Ilorin. But when the list came out, I was not offered admission.

The following year I tried but still admission wasn't offered to me.
The third year came, and I decided to change my choice of institution.
I changed from University of Ilorin to University of Ibadan at least the acronym for both are UI. I was very optimistic and await the best. I sat for their POST UTME but in POST UTME I didn’t get up to 50, which is their cut-off mark.

All hope lost, depression set in, so this is how admission wouldn’t come. I selected Ilaro Poly as my second choice. But I was told if they are to consider, I will need to make them my first choice. Gone were the day when if 1st choice didn’t accept you, there is still hope for second choice.

Don’t get tired yet, I’m taking you somewhere.

During the UI admission process, a message was sent to me that have been given provisional admission to University of Ibadan in Affiliation with Michael Otedola College of Education

I informed my parents, I was asked to proceed with the admission process, but I wasn’t thrilled about it, I didn’t want it but due to wasted years I had to. It doesn’t look like I’m going to a university, but a college, my elder brother also did not like the idea. He said I should write another O’level or A’level exam.
But I’m tired of staying at home, not that I wasn’t doing anything, I was utilizing the period to learn fashion designing and it looks like I won’t be going to school again.

To make the whole situation worse, getting to the college, the environment looks like an advance secondary school. I have no choice, I submitted all the requirements and await resumption.

0BE73557-FD32-483D-A303-45B1E301F582.jpeg

The school life I’m expecting is not here. The social life I thought I will be exposed to is not available, no night reading in school. Extra curriculum activities are nowhere to be found, by the time we finished the first semester. I realize this admission is actually a blessing!

You may want to ask why

  1. I realized that i and fellow students at the main campus will receive the same certificate, the only way for people to know that I went to an affiliated school is by telling them.

  2. The people at main campus have not even resumed for the semester, when I have already finished first semester. I’m referring to 2020 admission, COVID-19 and END SARS actually delayed admission resumption which a lot of school calendar's haven’t recovered from yet.

Then to make everything worse. ASUU strike struck again. ASUU went on strike, but the strike didn’t affect us because we are not under ASUU. My mates have to stay at home for almost a year now I’m in 300L and my mate just want resume 200L.

  1. That aside, if I didn’t come to this school. I may have never been able to come across some personalities that have helped shaped my life, the social life I’m looking for would have actually destroyed my life. This is actually where God wants me to be. Though it still looks like an advance secondary school. Now I love it!

Maybe I wouldn’t have heard about this community cause, the opportunity to meet @vickoly may never have come. If i had not come to Epe
for studies.

What I learned from this experience?

  1. The outcome of this admission made me realize that sometimes what we want may not really be what we need.

  2. Not all opportunities will look like it. It takes a deep insight to tap into it.

  3. Never to neglect any open door, whether big or small.

Thanks!

My first graphic design, hope I tried?

798BAEBF-53F7-4176-A1B4-5B001B517A29.png

Grateful Heart ♥️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center