NYSC CHRONICLES - STANDING OUT TO FIT IN

I wrote earlier about me journeying to the NYSC camp, and all my expectations about it, the few experiences I have had, and other things. This is me journaling about how it has been so far. So, where do I start from? It's been an amazing experience with so many ups and downs. I have been stressed, sleep deprived and I have also had a lot of fun. In a place like this one, I didn't know what to expect but I was looking forward to some few things. I was hoping to meet new people and make new friends or acquintances. The actual plan was to turn on that sociable side of me and make the most out of camp.

20240628_111949.jpg

I haven't always been the kind of person that knows how to fit in places. Most times, it takes a bit of time for me to get familiar and me my actual self in new places. When we got into the camp days back and I realized the people that we were shared to the same room, I kind of felt like it might take a while for me to actually vibe with them. They were a bit too loud for my liking, so I just kept an open mind regardless. I have been able to make some acquintances, those ones you just exchange pleasantries with or have small talks with.

20240628_182305.jpg

Before coming to camp, I had the plan to join the OBS team in camp. OBS stands for Orientation Broadcasting Service and they oversee everything media all through the camp period. As a photographer, I really wanted to join the OBS team in order to join the photographers in the team. Another reason is to avoid parade, that is one of the most stressful part of camp. However, I must confess that it can be really fun sometimes. I went to the OBS office to make my interest known but then, they had an application process that one had to follow.

20240628_073423.jpg

I had to tender an application letter day before yesterday and fortunately for me, I was accepted. We had a meeting earlier today where we were briefed about everything we needed to know about the team. The people that joined the team together with me seemed like really cool people and I do feel like we'd get along well. So, I was to assist with shooting images when we had a program earlier during the day. To be honest, I was shy and overthinking it initially, the thought of facing thousands of Corp members and being the only one walking up and down seemed so overwhelming. I really do not like unnecessary attention, and I shoot indoor most of the time. So, the setting wasn't something I have been very used to.

Well, I just had to summon up the courage and I did just fine at the end of the day🤭 Before I knew it. I was already going up and down taking pictures, and despite the fact that I was the only one moving and really stood out, I was totally alright and cool. Generally, the camp has been bearable so far and it has been okay. It has also been stressful though, and I barely have time for other things. I am still trying to adjust to the new system, I know I will be fine.

20240628_112159.jpg

Thanks for reading ❤️


All Images Are Mine


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center