BEYOND BIOLOGY

Given my current position and ranking in the kid's spectra and the composition, I might be surprised little by such information. Maybe. My parents had boys and boys before me with huge age-gap differences between us. You could say that they were searching for a me. And, I could easily think that after many births and no me was forthcoming, they had to take what was the next initiative. Maybe, I could think that I was truly adopted if such news was broke to me now.

Unsplash

But looking at all our "face-to-face" faces, I'll say, "it's October. You can't do April-fool in October. E no sweet."

I have relatives who are adopted(I hope they never get to see this post) amd true, I never wish they find out that they're adopted. I don't know if they already know and I don't think so. And so far, no one, to my knowledge, has mentioned it to them. Thankfully, we all bear a resemblance. The main thing is, when I think of them being in the know, I think of withdrawal. I think that they may no longer feel as 'part of' as they did when they had no knowledge of it. The non-inclusive mindset might creep in.

My parents have been tremendously good to me. And if they were my adopted parents and treated me as good as this, making sure to give me just the very best as they can afford and treat me just as good as they do their other biological children(even better, given that i enjoy far more benefits and privileges), what else can I ask? What is more?

Besides, I am even assuming that there was not a need to be open about such information cause they're shielding it from me. They may be protecting me from myself. From second-guessing every good they do to me. From judging their every word and action and comparing myself to the other kids.
Besides, I don't know how much help knowing that information would do to me but make me begin to see loops where there's none.

Growing up, people talked about adopted kids, especially when they were within earshot in whispers. It was so that the child never got a hold of the news which may break him/her.

It was common knowledge that save for the child's parents, it was in no one else's jurisdiction to disclose such sensitive news to the child. The child might begin to see himself/herself differently. He/she might feel as not part of the whole.

I don't know how my reactions might be if i found out this information in reality. Maybe I'd feel some hurt(in that moment) but I'd shake it off. It's not worth the trouble. I'd shake it off and count myself lucky to have been adopted by a family that dots on me terrifically. I'd be appreciative of these people who have loved, protected, provided, cared for me, given me an identity all the years without giving me one reason to doubt that love. What more can I ask? What else is family? Blood only?? That's a no! Family's beyond biology.

Very little(or nothing) would change on my end with that piece of knowledge. I don’t even think that i would care enough to know the people who birthed me. My life is good, the family I know is the family I own. I'm too old for all this stress walahi. E no get wetin i go do abeg.
My parents wanted me, they CHOSE me. I'm special!

Thanks for gracing this post.
Greetings!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center