...AS A PERSON CAN HANDLE

The first time I knew a person could do two jobs at once was when in my childhood days, I knew this man, he was called, "doctor." He owned a pharmacy that was thriving. And then I found out that he was a lawyer too. I did not know if to call him Dr Barr. I used to be confused on how his titles were placed.

Unsplash

From hearsay, he attended medical school first and then went for a degree in law. I don't know how true that is and I don't know if I believe so. Maybe he did a PHD or something, I don't know cause I haven't gotten around to asking him.

Meanwhile, nowadays, people are advised to get multiple income streams. One is no longer enough. One used to be just okay when the economy was better and incomes could parallel to expenses. Not anymore. From early on, now, people are acquiring extra skills, students are running both offline and/or offline jobs, those who work a 9-5 aren't left out, even those that you would assume to be wetl-to-do in their fields also run multiple jobs.

It is draining, no doubt. But it is what has been upholding many from the harsh state of the economy. Needless to say, it's all aimed at survival.

We like to say, "don't put all your eggs in one basket," and I must say that this also applies to careers. Currently, there's not so many jobs paying so well and the few that are, aren't stable.

I ordered stuff online sometime back and along the line, myself and the vendor became pals. I'd go on to find that she is a Barrister. Once we were having our random conversations, she lamented on how poor her salary was and how it wasn't meeting her needs. She took up online marketing and although it hasn't been the biggest thing, it auguments in certain little ways. I would never have thought that that profession paid as low as she mentioned. I even found it difficult to believe until i did some findings. It's same for a lot of people even for those who we assume to have well-paying jobs.

You know, i grew up wanting to be different things(one was more dominant though). But as far as enlightment went, I was made to believe that I could be just one thing. As I grew older, I realized that the opportunities are emdless. Thing is, sticking to just one line of career can, aside from being boring, not be favorable. You'll find in different sectors and learn from many people of influence who are excelling that a lot of them found growth when they switched paths.

I barely know anyone who isn't juggling two or more jobs. The only consideration is if they can very well handle and give attention to each and every one of those jobs.

I would rather that everyone juggles as less or as much as they can handle depending on their choice and competence. It's a lifesaver, especially in this present times.

Thanks for gracing this post.
Greetings!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center