THE LIES THEY TOLD US.

There are many lies that i was fed with while growing up that leaves me frightened for my own safety. I actually believed them because it was coming from someone older than me and ofcourse the person was supposed to be wiser and more knowledgeable.

20230502_190209_0000.png

One of those lies was that if you take coca cola beverage and mango together what will follow would be instant death. I can remember the day my mother bought some fresh mangoes and i ate to my fill because i have always been a lover of fresh and juicy mangoes. Just as i stepped out of the house, my aunt offered me a can of coca cola beverage. I have to turn it down because of fear of dying. Over the years i have continually questioned myself on the genuineness of that myth but i was too scared to experiment it on myself. As an adult, i am very convinced that it was all a lie yet i have never gotten myself to take both together. It was so bad that whenever i see mango the first thing that would cross my mind is that big fat lie.

I didn'bother my children with such huge burden and when i see them reach for a can of coca cola after eating some mangoes i will just smile in appreciation that they don't have to deal with such lie like i did.

YOU WILL GET PREGNANT IF YOU SIT NEAR A BOY.

This is a lie they told us women to prevent us from having any premarital sexual relationship with the opposite sex. This was a lie they told us instead of a proper sex education. Infact my mother told me that if i hug a man i will get pregnant. I stopped talking to some of my male friends because of this lie and consciously stayed away from many of them.

IF YOU DON'T EAT BEANS YOU WILL BE SHORT.

This one got so popular that up till today a lot of people still believe in it and it's being passed down from generation to generations. I was inside a supermarket one day when this lady was reaching for a washing soap but unfortunately her hands couldn't reach it. Someone later came to her help and she thanked him saying.

Thank you so much, if i had listened to my mother and ate all the beans she cooked i would have been taller than i am today.

The man started laughing and so did i. She went on to explain how she abhore beans and always look for something else to eat whenever her mum made one. I have to explain to her that beans might be proteneous but it have nothing to do with her height. She waved it aside citing how tall her junior sister that loves beans was.

Babe i know i would have been taller than i am now if i love eating beans.

That was a big lie that parents deployed in order to make their children eat beans. A lot of children don't like beans and in order to get them to eat it they have to lie that it makes one grow very tall. I was among the lucky kids that love beans and by God's grace i am not a short woman. My height was from my maternal grandfather who was a very tall man. Nevertheless i aren't going to take chances with my children as i make sure they eat beans twice every week.

20230502_170916.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center