“Potato palooza: A Nigerian Sunday”

Good day lovelies and a very blessed sunday to you all 🥰 . This is my #creative sunday# blog, it’s not anything special, but stick with me till the end alright.

Sooo, lets get to it;

Now it’s not common news that Sundays, in most if not all, nigerian homes are set aside for rice and stew, like a kind of tradition that just started on it’s own and decided it was here to stay and wasn’t going nowhere 😂.

Soo here’s the catch; my home is not an exception 😆 we literally eat rice every sunday( either with tomatoe stew or with palm kernel stew, known as ofe aku in my language).

Now normally, rice and stew is the rest of the day’s food but in the morning is usually tea and bread. Let’s just say I got tired of that 😩 and told my mum lets have something else 😝 soo we decided on fried potatoes and pap.

Soo I’m sure we all know how to make fried potatoes with pap and it’s not special, but it’s still what i prepared so bear with me guys ok 😁🥺

Soo I first started by peeling the back of the potatoes

When I was done with peeling all the potatoes we were going to eat, I washed it( gotta eat clean and healthy now don’t we 😊)

After washing, I sliced my potatoes in the shape I wanted. Doing this also made me know if the amount of potatoes I was cutting was going to be enough, turns out it wasn’t 🤷🏽‍♀️ so I added one more as the certified foodie I am by my best babes 🤣

After slicing the amount I needed, it was time to add salt😰 now this was the tricky part to me cause my mum doesn’t like salt like that soo I had to put only a little 🫣

At a point I started thinking this amount I put would be too much cause it is sea salt we use at home and even just a little of sea salt can be too salty, but it was just my mind toying with me(I’ll let you guys know why later 😉).

After adding the salt and spreading it around the potatoes to reach everything, I brought down my frying pan and put enough vegetable oil I’d need to fry the potatoes in it.

I did this, then waited for the oil to heat up enough, then I put the potatoes into the oil and let it fry to my liking

When it had fried to how brown and crispy I liked it I brought it out of the oil 🥹😁

After this was done, I kept the frying pan aside and brought out a kind of salad plate and put the quantity of pap that would reach in it and mixed it with water, not to watery or ot won’t turn out right

After this, I put water in my kettle and put it on the gas and let it get hot enough that it starts bubbling. Then I pour the water into the liquid pap and turn it while pouring till it gets thick….

Voila there you have it; my very own fried potatoes and pap. Soo what I said I was going to telk you guys later was: the salt I put in the potatoes was apparently ok cause my momma was even asking me later if I even put salt at all 😂😭

A little truth; I would have preferred Irish potatoes cause i just love fried Irish potatoes 🥺🥰 but with how expensive they are here in Nigeria it’s a no go area 😉😰

Well!! There you have it. My creative sunday post 😁 I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it 🥰

See you lovelies next time 😝🥰😍😘

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center