Panic Attacks in the Darkness.

Portuguese version below.

In my childhood and adolescence, it was common for power outages to occur in my neighborhood. This happened at least once every four months. What's interesting is that these outages always occurred in the afternoon, and we would be without power at home until eight or nine in the evening. It's hard to pick just one negative experience from those days because the truth is that all the experiences were, in a way, bad, but they also had their positive side.

To explain why all the experiences of power outages triggered negative feelings in me, I first have to reveal a fact about myself: Darkness terrifies me. So walking around the house by candlelight or even using a flashlight was not pleasant. When the lights went out in the afternoon, it was more peaceful because I would play with my friends outside since no one was watching TV. During my teenage years, we set up chairs on the sidewalk to chat until nightfall. However, when the power outage occurred at night, it triggered my panic attacks.

I would be paralyzed in the darkness, calling for my mother or father, unable to move. I imagined that sinister beings emerged with the darkness and that they would take me to their dimension of horror. It was terrible. My parents or my grandmother would eventually come to me, but until that happened, I experienced the worst minutes of my life. Sometimes, they weren't even minutes; our house wasn't very large, but even seconds felt like an eternity to me.

After all the candles were lit, I felt a bit calmer, but I preferred to stay outside. Out there, even with the streetlights all turned off, I could see familiar people passing by. Sometimes, friends or cousins would also gather in front of my house, which helped distract me. The good part of a power outage was how brightly the sky became. Suddenly, all the stars seemed splendid, completely bright, and like beacons, they illuminated the streets. It was only a matter of time for our eyes to adjust to that natural darkness of the world.

Made in Canva.

Additionally, it was beautiful to see the connection that emerged among people. Most of them sat in chairs on the sidewalk, talking with their families or friends, waiting together for the power to return. Hardly anyone stayed inside. I imagine it wasn't just scary for me to have to stay indoors only by candlelight.

When the power came back on, it was a celebration. Everyone shouted with joy, we blew out the candles with smiles on our faces, and, of course, we turned on the television. The return of the light brought me relief, even though I liked the appearance of the sky during the power outage. The night without artificial lights brought a serenity I wasn't used to, and I preferred to be in a comfortable and familiar zone, preferably under the light of lamps.

These days, power outages are very rare in the city where I live. In the neighborhood where I've lived for four years, I think it only happened once, and it was in the middle of the night. Even then, I woke up. The bathroom light always stays on in my house when we go to sleep, so, in a way I don't understand, the darkness woke me up, and I immediately started to have a panic attack. It didn't last long because my husband was by my side and managed to calm me down quickly.

One day, I would like to understand why darkness terrifies me so much. But it's as if there truly is an evil civilization that manifests itself at that moment. I know that it's all in my head and not real, but it's undoubtedly frightening.


Portuguese

Crises de pânico na escuridão.

Na infância e adolescência era comum haver quedas de energia no meu bairro. Pelo menos uma vez a cada quatro meses isso acontecia. Interessante é que sempre ocorria a tarde, e ficávamos sem energia em casa até as oito ou nove horas da noite. É difícil escolher uma só experiência negativa desses dias, porque a verdade é que todas as experiências foram por um lado ruins, mas por outro lado, foram experiências boas.

Bem para explicar porque todas as experiências de queda de energia foram algo que me provocaram sentimentos negativos, primeiro tenho que revelar um fato sobre mim: A escuridão me deixa em pânico. Então andar pela casa a luz de velas ou mesmo utilizando uma lanterna não era algo agradável. Nas vezes que a luz faltava à tarde, era mais tranquilo, pois eu ficava brincando com meus amigos na rua já que ninguém estava na tv. Quando na adolescência, colocamos cadeiras na calçada para ficarmos conversando até anoitecer. Porém, quando a queda de energia acontecia a noite, isso acionava o gatilho para minha crise de pânico.

Eu ficava paralisada na escuridão chamando por minha mãe ou por meu pai, não conseguia me mover. Imaginava que existiam seres tenebrosos que surgiam com a escuridão e que eles me levariam para sua dimensão de horror. Era terrível. Meus pais ou minha avó, em algum momento chegavam até mim, mas até isso acontecer eu vivia os piores minutos da minha vida. Às vezes nem eram minutos, nossa casa não era muito grande, mas mesmo sendo segundos para mim parecia uma eternidade.

Depois que todas as velas se acendiam, eu ficava um pouco mais tranquila, mas preferia ficar fora de casa. Do lado de fora, mesmo com as luzes dos postes todas apagadas, eu podia ver pessoas conhecidas passando pra lá e pra cá. Às vezes alguns amigos ou primos iam lá pra frente da minha casa também, o que me ajudava a me distrair. A parte boa de uma queda de energia, era o quanto o céu ficava iluminado. De repente todas as estrelas pareciam esplêndidas, completamente brilhantes, e como faróis, iluminavam as ruas. E era só uma questão de tempo até nossa visão se acostumar com aquela escuridão natural do mundo.

Made in Canva.

Além disso, era bonito ver a conexão que surgia entre as pessoas. A maioria sentados em cadeiras na calçada, conversando com sua família ou amigos, esperando todos juntos a luz voltar. Dificilmente alguém ficava dentro de casa. Imagino que não era assustador só pra mim ter que ficar dentro de casa apenas sob a luz de velas.

Quando a luz voltava, era uma festa. Todo mundo gritava de alegria, apagávamos as velas com sorrisos no rosto e obviamente, ligávamos a televisão. A volta da luz me dava um alívio, embora eu gostasse do aspecto do céu durante a queda de energia, a noite sem luzes artificiais provocava uma serenidade da qual eu não estava acostumada e eu preferia ficar numa zona confortável e conhecida pra mim, de preferência sob a luz de lâmpadas.

Hoje em dia é muito raro acontecer quedas de energia na cidade onde moro. No bairro onde vivo há 4 anos, acho que só aconteceu uma vez e foi de madrugada. Mesmo assim, eu acordei. A luz do banheiro sempre fica acesa em minha casa quando vamos dormir, então, de alguma forma que não entendo, a escuridão me despertou e logo comecei a ter uma crise de pânico. Não durou muito pois meu esposo estava ao meu lado e conseguiu me acalmar rapidamente.

Um dia eu gostaria de compreender porque a escuridão me aterroriza tanto. Mas, é como se de fato existisse uma civilização maligna que se manifesta justamente nessa momento. Eu sei que isso só acontece na minha cabeça e que não é real, mas é sem dúvida assustador.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center