High Cost Of Fuel: A Major Challenge To Public Transportation System.

Source
The high cost of petrol has been a major challenge to road transportation system in Nigeria. As we all know that transportation is a means of movement from one place to another.

The use of public road transportation system has mainly been my means of moving from one location to another, I do board public transport every day which is quite convenient for me to transport myself to anywhere I want to go. But the main issue is the rise in transport fares due to the high cost of fuel.

Any time I board public transport, I do complain due to the high rate of transport fare which is really disheartening. Even those who have private cars have chosen to board public buses due to the high cost of fuel in the country. Anytime I board public transport most passengers do complain about the high cost of fuel and how things are getting expensive every day.

The masses kept on suffering while the government do nothing to resolve the situation of high cost of fuel instead they choose to make decisions that makes the masses to suffer more.

The high cost of fuel is as a result of subsidy removal. Subsidy was removed and this made the price of fuel more expensive. Do i mean government should not remove subsidy? No, i dont. But not this time when the masses are suffering will such decision will be made. Few weeks later, I boarded a transport bus and the driver kept on lamenting on how spare parts are now expensive and how the increase in the price of fuel has affected his daily income. I really felt for him.

Not only do drivers complain but the passengers as well do complain and lament about the situation. Some months ago, I calculated my monthly income and I discovered that transportation is taking larger chunks of my salary. My house is far from my place of work and i do go to work every day. In order to save some money, I decided to always trek to the bus stop. From my house to the bus stop is 20 minutes. I decided to always trek every day and at the end of the month i discovered it was affecting my health negatively. So i had to stop trecking because i know the importance of good health. To make things easier for my self i have decided to rent an accomodation that is quite close to my workplace in order to reduce the amount i spend on transportation daily.

Source
The high cost of fuel has affected cost of things in market which include foodstuffs, clothing and more, which are now more expensive. Most families could not afford three square meal due to high cost of food stuffs.

I think its high time the government considered the masses while making decision.i will encourage the government to should ensure that reduction in cost of fuel is made and also their should be adequate supply of fuel, with this i believe life will be easier for all.

Thanks for reading...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments