My First Strides Into The Working World

Working for the first time is what every one of us must have experienced because before we get to where we are now there must be something we do first.
My first work was in the Power Holding Company of Nigeria( PHCN). If you are from Nigeria you will know how stressful it is for someone to get such work and how working in the office has a lot of challenges.

Image Source

People who work in the PHCN office has a lot of task ranging from going from one street to another to disconnecting light, Some of my colleagues do get hurt when they are on the street because, some streets don't want to see PHCN staff, but we are sent from the office and we don't have a choice but to go out there.

Some nice streets pay their bills so that we won't disconnect their lights, and there are others like that. That is where the enjoyment falls in the PHCN work. There are different experiences about the work and I also get to meet people I never thought I could meet while I was in the PHCN office.

The business manager occasionally sends a lot of workers out, but I was in the department that handled bill schedules. It was a lovely moment then because I got the job immediately after I finished secondary school. The payment was low. But I don't care, I love the fact that I am earning back then and I have a good job 😊

Meeting different people every day kept me happy while doing the job because I was still a very small boy but I know people who my family never believed that I could know and I enjoyed my stay in that office.
Most of my bosses love me because whenever they send me on an errand, I don't feel reluctant to go

But while I was working there, I was processing my university and immediately I got the admission. I left the job because I couldn't combine going to school and working in the PHCN office all together so I just have to let one go. I didn't find it difficult to let go of the work because the pay is not much.

Lesson Acquired

I learned a lot of things about the work. Firstly it taught me that someone needs to have multiple sources of income in life because I noticed that all my bosses have something else they are doing aside from the PHCN work.

And I also learned how to save, while I was working because I always see money daily and I joined daily contributions with my colleagues. I also learnt about how to improve my computer skills because we had daily targets and I was the one that always did all the reports.

If I have the opportunity again I wouldn't want to go back there because I didn't have passion for such work. I just did it back then because I didn't want to sit at home doing anything. Meanwhile, I enjoyed working I'm a construction firm, because that's my line of study.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center