My Life Off Social Media

Good day to you all my tutors and learners here on Hive.



No social media you say??

Hmm… I am 90% fine and good to go!

This made me remember my conversation with a close friend of mine while we were in a higher institution. I remember myself as a social media addict. I will even use my feeding allowance to buy data at times and just waste it off before I know my data is finished. 😭.

But there were times when I got awful bonuses so those are my favorite times. I would go online on my Facebook account, check my feeds, and even start messaging people who never cared about me and might not even reply to me for decades. But still, I am so addicted 😝😝.

When Facebook introduced short video content I became a regular and then I started to watch every short comedy skit and long content. I will make comments that never got any attention 😂.

Back then if I were asked this question about life without social media, I would tell you, I might get sick of it. Back then if you see me sleeping for long it's either I am off data or my battery is down.

But a few years back I got a turnaround in my life. I came in contact with web3 and then everything changed. I abandoned my social media life gradually. I realized there is a way I can even get back the funds I spent on data. I realized I could add more to my knowledge and still get rewarded for it. Then why make myself a slave of social media?

My first step was to freeze every social media app on my phone, Facebook, Instagram, WhatsApp, Telegram, Twitter, and others. Then when I needed them I would unfreeze again. I know it won't be easy throwing off everything at a go.

With time, I began to uninstall these apps one after the other. I started with Facebook, then Instagram, and others. With time I realized I am off socials. And I can say it's been years since my last upload on my social media accounts.

My last upload on Facebook, March 2021

So in summary, when talking about social media life we have different points of view about it. And that's more of a reason why some people can’t do without it, and some already left it for long.

In the olden days when there was nothing like social media, people lived and survived. The only thing I realized with our recent generation is that we found ourselves entangled with the trends of our time and that's Social Media.

The only Social media app I have active on my device is my WhatsApp account. And the reason for it being active is the feature of instant messaging it has and it also holds a wide range of people to connect with easily.

Life without social media is cool, and with social media it's extraordinary. It depends on the way you see it.


This is my response to the prompt for week 90 edition 2 on the hive learners community and the topic to be discussed is NO SOCIAL MEDIA.



IMAGE: All images are mine and captured from my device


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center