Phoenix - chapter 37 - Swan Valley

Phoenix_01_text_margins_1600.png

(previously...)

37

.
“So, every time Tiger Lily was with me, she would keep an eye out for Jade Wolf. I warned her about his reputation for using young women, then leaving them to deal with the consequences. I told her he was too old for her as well… and she was still under age.”

“Isn’t age mostly just a number?” Tanya asked.

“Sometimes,” Dancing Bear interjected. “But Jade Wolf is 35 now. Tiger Lily would be 20 now, if I’m correct.”

“Yes,” Little Deer replied. “Anyway, she didn’t listen to me, just went gaga over my cousin. Before long, he noticed and began to romance her. He’s very lovely when he wants a woman! On her birthday, he took her out for a ride up into the hills. He took a sleeping bag – just one sleeping bag… extra large. When they came back, she had that look in her eyes that one has when they’ve just got away with a huge secret.”

“Sounds romantic enough,” Tanya said. “Isn’t it normal for people our age to have had lovers before? I’m not innocent either.”

“She stayed with him frequently after that until she started being sick in the mornings. When it became clear that she was pregnant, Jade Wolf dropped her like a hot potato. It was disgustingly shameful, made me regret that he is my cousin! Her father found out shortly thereafter and wanted her to have an abortion. She refused – just like her cousin – and moved to Blackfoot shortly thereafter. I haven’t seen her since, though I’ve heard that Jasmine is a sweetheart!”

“That’s what I heard when I came through there,” Tanya replied.

“I had envisioned us bringing up our children together. Instead, Dove hasn’t even met Jasmine!”

Tanya shuffled to the couch and gave Little Deer a hug. “I’m sorry.”

“That’s why I’m so grateful for you coming here – with Skye and Rose. Do you plan to stay in Ba’a O’ng?”

“I do wish to,” Tanya replied honestly. “I love this place so much!”

Little Deer smiled. “Anyway, that’s why I warn you against Jade Wolf. He’s a wonderful man in so many ways, but he gets his name ‘Jade’ not for his precious value, but for the fact that so many have been jaded by him. Fall in love with him at your peril. Share his bed if you want another child to raise by yourself… for that’s all you’ll get from him – a few nights of fun and pleasure!”

Tanya nodded, understanding what had been said. She looked towards the door to notice Sage Eagle standing there, his face stern as if practicing for taking over his father’s role. She didn’t know how long he had been standing there. She wiped a tear from her eye.

“Little Deer, you are wanted at home,” he announced.

“We will make our way there shortly. Tell Da.”

“I will wait for you, since I’m already here.”

“Come?!” Rose asked loudly.

“You may as well come now if you want, Rose!” Little Deer replied. “Is that all right, Phoenix? You need to get ready for your date, after all.”

“It’s not a date,” Tanya denied.

“Of course it is!” Little Deer replied. “I want you to have a good time tonight. Pronghorn is a good man. Almost as good as my brother!”

Tanya felt herself blushing. She stole a quick glance at Sage Eagle, but though he looked at her, his stern face hadn’t changed. If anything, he looked angrier. Would she ever stop angering him?!

Dancing Bear took Rose to her room. Tanya kept looking from Little Deer to Sage Eagle, whose gaze never wavered. Why was he staring at her?! Especially when she seemed to anger him so much. She would have done anything necessary to regain the kinder gaze he had met her eyes with when they first met.

Finally, Rose came out with a small backpack full of clothes and things. “I’ll pick up Skye after school,” Dancing Bear volunteered.

“Thanks,” Tanya replied, wondering how she would ever repay all the kindness given her since arriving at Ba’a O’ng.

Rose gave Tanya a kiss and hug and went cheerfully with her friend. Sage Eagle left with them, and it was quiet again.

“Will he always hate me?” Tanya asked.

“Sage Eagle does not hate you,” Dancing Bear replied. “I do not understand much of what’s going on in that man’s head, but it’s definitely not hatred. Now, go take a nice hot bath. I’m thinking some epsom salts might give your ankle a boost, but mind that you do not stress it too much with Pronghorn!”

Tanya realized that Dancing Bear was hinting about what might happen if she were to fall in love with Pronghorn! She blushed again. Just because she had kissed Jade Wolf didn’t mean she would drop her guard the moment the next handsome native wanted to spend the evening with her!

Dancing Bear helped get the bath ready for her.

“Do you need any help?” the woman asked.

“No. Thanks for the bath,” Tanya replied, but her mind was racing with questions. She blurted out the most urgent one. “Dancing Bear, what would I have to do to be able to stay in Ba’a O’ng?”

She smiled warmly. “You have to ask Nighthawk’s permission. Then, we have to build you a home.” With that, the old woman left Tanya alone with her thoughts.

She settled into the hot bath, only slightly wincing as she put too much weight on her ankle. It was manageable, though. She thought about the men she had met thus far. Jade Wolf had a lovely taste about him, but what Little Deer had told her made her realize that he really needed to be off limits. Sage Eagle hated her, she was certain – despite Dancing Bear’s ideas to the contrary. He was, by far, the most handsome man she’d ever met, and he didn’t like her. Would he be an obstacle to being allowed to stay in Ba’a O’ng? Considering that his father was Nighthawk, she could well imagine that being the case. Maybe Pronghorn was her ticket to being able to stay. If he loved her, then he could put in a good word with Nighthawk… even threaten to leave if she wasn’t allowed to stay.

Again, she imagined kissing Pronghorn. Would he taste as nice as Jade Wolf?

Tanya dunked her long black hair into the water. Her eyes closed and the face that appeared in her mind was that of Sage Eagle. Would she never get over him?

♥♥♥

Next chapter...

Back to the prologue

Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase at Books2Read. Print version will be available soon.

THANK YOU to everyone who has purchased one of my books. I appreciate every single one!

Image Credits

Phoenix
Genesis 8.1 by DAZ 3D Studio
Summer Dress by Pusey Designs
Mitsu Hair
Dice Earrings by Fisty
.
Sage Eagle
Genesis 8.1
Mada TnC Jeans by DAZ
Gypsy Shirt by Pusey Designs
PH Classic Hair
.
Kitten
Housecat by HiveWire
.
Background
Room4 by SmidA


Previous Swan Valley Stories:

  • Native Concession either in ebook form or [print]( . (June 2014, approximately 9 months before Phoenix.)

Location:

Swan Valley is a fictitious American Indian reservation located in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming, USA. The Neme'o'ng (Swan People) are based on the idea of blending the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples - as might have happened if they were stranded in a desolate area as a small band of misfits. I have developed their language from the same ideas.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency