Phoenix - Characters and Notes - Swan Valley

Phoenix_01_text_margins_1600.png

The Swan Valley books began at least 15 years ago as a personal fantasy of mine. I have always had a deep love and respect for Native American Indians and have had several as close friends at one time or another.

I hate to admit it, but several Halloweens, I "went Indian" as an expression of love and admiration, not of mockery. One time, I went all out and created a costume as authentic as I could come up with at the time, taking great pains to do it well. More recently, I redesigned the Lenormand oracle deck using a Native American Indian theme - again, as true as I could make it.

I have based the Neme'o'ng (very loosely) on the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples who live in Wyoming, and developed a pidgin language as it might have developed if a small band of misfits (from both tribes) were thrown together in a remote area and challenged to survive.

I have studied Native culture (as well as brief studies into the Shoshoni and Arapaho languages) to make sure I am reasonably accurate and always as respectful as I can be - but remembering that they are still just people - and have the same faults as any of us...

With this, I hope you enjoy this March 2015 dive into the culture at Swan Valley - the home of the Neme'o'ng.


Cast of Characters

  • Tanya Jones – stay-at-home mother of two from Portland, Oregon
  • Frank Jones – abusive husband
  • Skye Jones – 7-year-old daughter
  • Rose Jones – 3-year-old daughter
  • Jenny Underwood – Skye's teacher
  • Evana Johnson - neighbor
  • Freya Ingram – Evana’s friend in Pendleton, Oregon
  • Therese Calais – Evana’s friend in Blackfoot, Idaho
  • Tiger Lily – lives with Therese in Blackfoot and Jasmine, her 2-year-old daughter

Tribal Members in Swan Valley (Ba’a O’ng)

  • Phoenix (Coonagwi)
  • Crow (A’ra) – tribal member
  • Dancing Bear (Woxi) – wise woman of the tribe
  • Dragonfly (Banduni) – Crow’s wife
  • Nighthawk (Wa’yapa) – chief elder
  • Jade Wolf – (Hooxa) – Nighthawk's nephew
  • Little Deer – (Deheyi) – Nighthawk's youngest daughter
  • Pronghorn – (Wahn’zi) Sage Eagle’s closest friend
  • Sage Eagle – (Kwina) – Nighthawk's youngest son
  • Swift Falcon – (Ginna) – Sage Eagle’s friend
  • Swift Fox – (Waana) – Swift Falcon’s twin

Mentions:

  • Ruffled Grouse – Nighthawk’s late wife
  • Lone Coyote – Jade Wolf’s father
  • Brave Lynx – Jade Wolf’s mother
  • Star – Sage Eagle’s lover who died, Sterling’s sister
  • Sterling – Little Deer’s lover, who died after his sister.

Glossary

Note: words from the Swan Valley dialect (neme daigwe i) will be italicized and listed here.

ap’ken’da – grandfather (father’s father)
appa – father
ar’ - crow
.
ba’a – valley
Ba’a O’ng – Swan Valley
banduna – dragonfly
bee-hoo – owl (any government official)
.
coonagwe – the firebird
.
da – dad
dehey – deer
denanga – to hear
dukwani – night
.
ginn – falcon
.
haiw – dove
hemo – self
hemo’bi – wife
hemo’da – husband
hoox - wolf
.
katte – stay, remain
ken’bi – grandmother (generic)
kinn – hawk
kwin – eagle
kwitta – shit
.
Neme – the people
Neme’o’ng – the people of Swan Valley. (“The Swan People.”)
Neme Daigwe – “the People’s tongue”
.
o’ng – swan
.
tsan – good
tsandukwani – good night
t’suanka/t’suanki – one’s carnal lover
tuku – sky
.
umant – family
.
waan – fox
wahn’z – pronghorn antelope
wa’yap – nighthawk
wox – bear


Image Credits

Phoenix
Genesis 8.1 by DAZ 3D Studio
Summer Dress by Pusey Designs
Mitsu Hair
Dice Earrings by Fisty
.
Sage Eagle
Genesis 8.1
Mada TnC Jeans by DAZ
Gypsy Shirt by Pusey Designs
PH Classic Hair
.
Kitten
Housecat by HiveWire
.
Background
Room4 by SmidA

Back to the prologue...

Character Info and Notes

Available to purchase at [Books2Read](coming soon. Print version will be available soon.

THANK YOU to everyone who has purchased one of my books. I appreciate every single one!


Previous Swan Valley Stories:

  • Native Concession either in ebook form or [print]( . (June 2014 - approximately 9 months before Phoenix)

Location:

Swan Valley is a fictitious American Indian reservation located in the Great Divide Basin of Wyoming, USA. The Neme'o'ng (Swan People) are based on the idea of blending the Shoshoni and Arapaho peoples - as might have happened if they were stranded in a desolate area as a small band of misfits. I have developed their language from the same ideas.


Please read my note on romance, teenage intimate relationships and underage sex. I apologize if my understanding conflicts with your sense of morality, but I'm only looking at things realistically, not ideologically. I hope you enjoy reading as much as I enjoy writing!


Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2105 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter





Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Discord Link

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency