Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest

I asked Google for information about how to become a "Minimalist Photographer". The first answer was "simplify, simplify, simplify".

Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest

Minimalist Photography
PhotoFeed Theme Contest (12)

So, what is minimalist and what is too much or even too less for still being minimalist? In this post I want to show you some examples and you decide yourself.

LakeWörthersee
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

The above image is my contribution to this week's PhotoFeed Contest. The theme of the week is Minimalist Photography.

"As an approach in photography, minimalism or minimalistic photography could be taken by the photographer in all genres. No matter you are a portrait, architecture, landscape etc. photographer, minimalist photos are always an option as long as you have a minimal look toward your surroundings" - Milad Safabakhsh, Founder of Minimalist Photography Awards (Source: Wikipedia)

Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

Especially in Autumn and in Winter I find it easier to shoot minimalist photos, because most nature is just white from fog or snow and it's a lot easier to find suitable photo motifs like a lone tree or a single buoy in the water.

Or can even shooting a castle result in a minimalist photo?

Castle Haimburg, Carinthia
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

Minimalist photography stems from its initial art movement; minimalism, which was a movement in the 1950s that emerged in the United States, also known as Minimalist Art, Reductive Art or ABC Art. As the name denotes, minimalism - which originates from the word minimum - means the slightest or the littlest amount required. In the art world, minimalism employs a limited amount of elements to construct the desired effect. (Source: Wikipedia)

Heart shaped Cloud
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

Do minimalist images have to be in black & white or at least monochrome? Or would a heart shaped cloud in the blue sky or a rock in a river also count as minimalist photography?

Rock in the Soča River, Slovenia
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

Fog isn't only best for woodland photography where it helps separating the trees from the background. Dense fog on the lake lets the messy background disappear and the swimmers platform gives a nice minimalist motif.

Swimmers Platform, Lake Wörthersee
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

How about the last pink colours of a gorgeous sunrise that I have missed? I was up on a little mountain where the sunrise wasn't interesting at all and so I drove back down into the foggy valley. While driving, I saw the clouds getting more and more pink and until I found a spot to park the car, the colours faded slowly.

Winter Sunrise, Carinthia
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

What do you prefer - a snowy hill or a snowy hill with a tree? I couldn't take more of the tree because it's a rather large group of trees and there's also a house.

Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
[click for fullsize]

Before I end this post I want to show you my most minimalist photo which I would rather call a wildlife photo 😉 I think that's too much minimalist:

4 Ducks in the Mist
Minimalist Photography | PhotoFeed Theme Contest
If you want to see the ducks you might need to open the image in full size by clicking here ;)

Well, that was it, my first post in 2022 and I do hope the count of my posts will not be as minimalist as in 2021.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and the Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L lens.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
wishing you a wonderful weekend
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to have one of my photos in full resolution.

> Have a look at my NFT's on the Foundation Plattform
> My Photos are listed at the OpenSea NFT Marketplace

>>> Twitter/JohannPiber <<<

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2022-01-07
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
196 Comments
Ecency