Crossing borders again | Slovenia in detail

I hope you don't expect big vistas or huge waterfalls in this post.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Slovenia in detail

Intimate Landscape Photography
Slovenia in detail

Last Monday I have crossed the border to Slovenia for the first time again since last year. It was a strange, but happy feeling to see the places again where I have been so often in the past years.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

My first target that day was my favourite forest in the Lepena Valley and I wandered through the Šunik Water Grove (Šunikov vodni gaj). Nothing had changed apart from a new bridge and some trees which have fallen during Winter. The area is still as beautiful as it was before.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

Of course, I took a couple of photos of the big waterfall there, but then I decided to look for more details this time. There are so many great photos of the waterfalls there on the internet that it's hard to find new compositions, but not so many people take photos of the little falls and cascades or of other smaller scenes.

The textures, patterns and colours of the rocks, the moss on the boulders and the water itself are amazing, hence the title Slovenia in detail.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

This kind of photography is called "Intimate Landscape Photography" - images of more or less small details in larger scenes which might often look abstract and/or arouse curiosity about the big picture.
For more information on Intimate Landscape Photography, please ask Google or your preferred search engine.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

The waterfall in the photo below hasn't been that huge at all anyway, but it was very nice, and even more I liked these little cascades.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

In this scene I liked the little waterfall on the left and the fallen tree which still had green leaves on. When I was there last year, this tree has still been standing on the edge of the gorge. The texture of the rock on the left side is amazing.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

Maybe I should have got closer to the scenes to take even more intimate images, but I just didn't feel like it - maybe next time.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

The sun shone sparsely through the thick canopy of leaves above me and sometimes only illuminated small spots with warm morning light.

It almost looks as if there is Gold under the layer that has grown on the rocks, at least it appears golden through the scratches in the layer. Maybe it is Gold ... I'd better have a closer look next time ;)

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

Orange stones and boulders, mossy overgrown, clearest water - these are reasons why I love this place so much. But there's even more which I want to explore again next time.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

It was quite early in the morning when I arrived at the Šunik Water Grove, and so I have had the whole area for me alone for a while until the first tourists arrived, but they didn't bother me at all this time because I was happy to be back.

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

It was a pleasure to be there again, but I didn't have much time - I've been driving my wife's car and needed to be back at 2pm to give her a lift home from work. So the forest and the other stream, which the tourists haven't found yet, have to wait till next time what certainly will be very soon :)

Intimate Landscape Photography - Sunikov Vodni Gaj - Sunik Water Grove, Slovenia
click for fullsize view

And here you are almost at the end of my today's post. I hope you enjoyed these a little bit different photos I showed you this time.

After the Šunik Water Grove I drove to another nice waterfall, the Mlinarica Waterfall, but this one I will show you in one of my next posts, as well as in another post I will show you the big and other waterfalls in the Šunik Water Grove.


Information

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM, Sigma 100-400mm F5-6,3 DG OS HSM C.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog
take care, stay safe and healthy,
Johann Piber @johannpiber
Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission

> Vote for me at the Foundation Plattform, help me becoming a creator.
> Buy my Photos listed at OpenSea NFT Marketplace

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

>>> Not got a Hive account yet? Sign up free here! or here <<<


2021-06-24
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.307882 lat 13.665549 long 20210623-Sunikov-Vodni-Gaj d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
160 Comments
Ecency