A Waterfall and an Autumnal Morning Walk

I can't remember when I have made a post with 3 photos only, but I can't help because on this short trip to a waterfall near home I have taken only 3 photos.

A Waterfall and an Autumnal Morning Walk - Johann Piber

A Waterfall and an Autumnal Morning Walk
Autumn 2022

I have posted images of this waterfall before, but I don't think I have been there in 2022. So, on a gray and rainy November 2, 2022, I decided to drive the 45 minutes to a parking lot and make the half hour hike to this waterfall called "Tschaukofall" in the Tscheppaschlucht (Tscheppa Gorge) close to the Slovenian border.

Tschaukofall - Tscheppaschlucht - Ferlach, Carinthia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

The Tschaukofall is 26 meters / 85 feet high and one of the attractions along the hiking trail through the Tscheppaschlucht. During the tourist season, the trail through the gorge is frequented by quite a few tourists, so you won't ever see me there during the Summer months 😉
But in late Autumn and on such cold and rainy days you may be quite sure that nobody else will be there, and these days are the days when I make such trips.

Tschaukofall - Tscheppaschlucht - Ferlach, Carinthia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Especially on rainy days it's very slippery there, but even on dry days there are not many possibilities for different compositions because the gorge is quite narrow and if you don't want to get washed away by the river, you have to stay safe and close to the trail.
It was raining and because I didn't want to slip into the cold water and I also didn't want to get more wet than I already was, I left after taking these 3 photos.

Tschaukofall - Tscheppaschlucht - Ferlach, Carinthia - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

I know that in the beginning I said I have only 3 photos for this post, but a post with 3 photos which all look pretty much the same just doesn't feel right to me 😉 and so I looked through the other photos of the beginning of November and found some which I have taken the day before on my morning walk at the reservoir. So I thought that 8 images are better than 3 and uploaded a few more 😀

These are shots across a meadow with old mossy trees along the path towards the farm house. I like how the damp air, the fog and the wet trees created painterly like images.

Morning Walk at the Reservoir - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Morning Walk at the Reservoir - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

Below are two long exposure images of trees on the other side of the lake which I shot with the telephoto lens. It was quite foggy and the water was dirty but I think the white tree trunks and the yellow-orangeish leaves of the trees look quite nice, even in the reflection.

Morning Walk at the Reservoir - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]
Morning Walk at the Reservoir - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

This is my favourite image of that morning - the sun was just about to rise and one of the first sunrays lit a little spot on the water right when a duck swam through it. I only wished that the other duck would also had been in the spot too. That would have been perfect 😊

Morning Walk at the Reservoir - Johann Piber
[click for fullsize]

That was it for today. I hope you liked my photos and you don't mind that there were a few more images than the in the beginning said 3.


Information

Tschaukofall on Google Maps
Tscheppaschlucht on Wikipedia (German)
Official Website of the Tscheppaschlucht in German

All photos were taken with the Canon EOS R and one of these lenses: Canon RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 70-200mm f/4 L IS USM, Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM, Canon EF 16-35mm 1:4 L IS USM, Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 L STM, SIGMA 105mm 1:2,8 DG MACRO HSM.
If you are interested in the image data, I leave all EXIF and IPTC information stored in the pictures.


If you like my work I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or maybe you want to share my post on your blog 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so that you never miss a post from me.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog,
Johann Piber @johannpiber

Photos and Text: @johannpiber | Johann Piber | All rights reserved - do not use without my permission
Please contact me if you would like to get one of my photos in full resolution or visit my NFT galeries ⬇️

>>> Vero/johannpiber <<<>>> piber.cc <<<

>>> See my posts on my Pinmapple Profile Map <<<

Do you know this Badge?

It says "Thank you for partnering with the
Papillon Foundation
by participating in the
Weekly Hive Charity Giveaway.
".

+++ You can win HBD Hive Dollars +++

Do you want this Badge?

If you like this badge and if you want to help too,
you can learn more in this blog post of @combination:
Some Exciting News! Badge release!

You have no Hive account yet?
Sign up free here! or here or here


2023-01-10
[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.48741 lat 14.26337 long 20230110-Tschaukofall d3scr)
#hive5 from Austria 🖐️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
93 Comments
Ecency