photo story "My almost tragic night"

IMG_20191231_171511.jpg
This is the dishwasher in my apartment. It was brand new, installed just before I moved in.
I am OCD about stuff like this, that is terribly out of level to my eye.
IMG_20191231_172509.jpg
Out of level according to the bubble level as well.
It has from the start leaked water, which I think is condensation, because it doesn't begin to come out until after the wash cycle and the drying cycle begins.
IMG_20191231_171233edit.jpg
It's hard to make out, but that is water.
I have run my hand down the left/sink side of the device and found that the water is coming out about 8 inches up from the bottom of the left side.
IMG_20191231_171317.jpg
Sometimes it is worse than this, sometimes I don't notice it at all.
Last night I looked before going to bed, I didn't look THAT closely, but I did look and I didn't see anything.
backtrack a moment
about a month ago I bought was was sold as an 'exercise mat' ¾ inch thick, spongy rubber like stuff. I put it in the kitchen to help save my feet while I'm in there working, SO
IMG_20200416_191814.jpg
It would normally extend from the doorway to the refrigerator.
Last night, I got up late and went to get something to drink. I put my foot on the end of the mat.
The water had WICKED up under it, all the way to the kitchen/dining room door. As soon as I put my foot down on it, it hydroplaned and if I hadn't caught myself on the edge of the sink, I'd have gone down HARD flat of my back.
For someone that is:

  1. my age
  2. my physical condition, and
  3. living alone,

this could have had a very different and VERY tragic outcome

"My almost tragic night"

by
Jerry E Smith
©04/16/2020
All images are original, taken with my Pixel 3A XL

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



cyktlq.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center