Scenes from a Bike - Edition 1

Part 1 Header (1 of 1).jpg

Welcome to my all new series - Scenes from a bike

The concept is simple, I've bought an electric bike, on this bike I explore my hometown, Melbourne Australia and take photos, Priority 1 - Finding new places in Melbourne, Priority 2 - taking better photos, Bonus - Earn back the cost of the bike by creating content and getting paid for it on HIVE.

This Edition facts:

Location: Docklands & Fisherman's Bend - this once was a true working docklands and industrial area just to the West of downtown Melbourne, it is now in the process of gentrification, now a mix of brand new apartments, offices and wharves for leisure craft and the old warehouses and maritime uses that haven't changed in 100 years. You do get a strange mix of brand new million dollar apartments next to run down warehouses and old industrial rubbish.

Date & Weather: Sunday the 15th of May, It's Autumn in Melbourne, this was earliest - 9am-10.30am on Sunday morning, as is typical for Melbourne at this time of year it's sunny but relatively cold, perfect weather for both bike riding and photo taking.

Equipment: My Fujifilm X-T3, which I've mated with the much under-rated 16-80mm Fujinon Zoom lens (24-120mm Eqv.. As this was the first outing I didn't really know what I needed so I thought a zoom was a good catch all. This was placed in a Crumpler small courier bag, and I rode my Vyron Cumulus 3.0 electric bike. (Pictured above in front of the much maligned Melbourne Eye)

Finances: The bike cost $1,100 USD. So far I've earned (nothing, but there was a intro post a few days ago which will pay out soon) meaning I have $1,100 to go.

Other stuff: First long ride on the bike - the total was just under 20km, it was not without effort, but honestly I'm not sure my untrained legs could have ridden 20km on a standard bike so I'm pretty impressed. I'm also impressed by the range, by my calculations it looks to be on track to get about 75km range from a single charge so it seems to be in the middle of the 60km-100km range suggested. And finally, I still haven't quite worked out if this is truly, scenes from a bike, or more correctly Scenes from a a bike, which is parked it, and I've walked a bit from it, but that's not very catchy.

So less writing, more looking at what I found.

Part 1.10 (1 of 1).jpg

4.5f, 160ISO, 1/500, 56mm
The first shot of a new project, historic, this is an art installation on the piles of the old pier, cinematic filter added in lightroom

Part 1.11 (1 of 1).jpg
7.1f, 160ISO, 1/250, 82mm
Some people out dragon boat race training, of course, the new apartment buildings of new quay in the background.

Part 1.12 (1 of 1).jpg
7.1f, 160ISO, 1/250, 25mm
Playing with shadows and light in one of the side street, shot in 1:1 for the 'gram.

Part 1.01 (1 of 1).jpg
16f, 160ISO, 1/250, 54mm
This is the sort of random collection of things that make sense down in docklands.

Part 1.03 (1 of 1).jpg
18f, 160ISO, 1/250, 24mm
Now this is why I thought I might need the zoom for the wide end. The buildings in the background are actually on the other side of the river.

Part 1.04 (1 of 1).jpg
18f, 160ISO, 1/250, 39mm
This random stuff sitting around warehouses is the content what I'm here for.

Part 1.05 (1 of 1).jpg
22f, 400ISO, 1/250, 56mm
As are photos of Fire exits, also what's with that ISO, did my hand slip on the dial, large silver shed doesn't other need higher ISO.

Part 1.07 (1 of 1).jpg
8f, 200ISO, 1/250, 120mm
This isn't a good photo, it's more just interesting that there was this sail boat out, and for non-Melbourne folk that is part of the city skyline in the background.

Part 1.08 (1 of 1).jpg
13f, 200ISO, 1/250, 24mm
On the other side of the river now in Fisherman's bend and underneath the Bolte bridge

Part 1.09 (1 of 1).jpg
18f, 200ISO, 1/250, 32mm
Further into Fisherman's bend (which I must explore more) and this building captured my interest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now