What Sigma can do

dandelion flower big bokeh.jpg


You probably have noticed my now (and if not I shall tell you) that Sigma 105 is the most used lens by me. If I have to pick only one to take with me for a walk - most of the times it would be Sigma.

It is a prime lens (no zoom), it is a heavy bazooka, but it does magic not only in macro photography, but look at that bokeh!
And I am sure I still do not use it to it's full potential.


flax flower big bokeh 1.jpg


After some heavy rains I found large puddles of water in one of the places I usually go shoot.
Now if you take the right angle with the sun, you will get all the water glistening and reflecting light. Time to get the Sigma monster and just shoot them bokeh bubbles :)

You can see the little blue Flax flower almost disappearing with the super busy background. It doesn't always work with small, delicate objects. But the fist photo with a dandelion turned out quite nice.


flax flower big bokeh 2.jpg


Dry weeds?
Awesome :D I can shoot those too.


dry stuff puddle bokeh 1.jpg


The difference between these two images ๐Ÿ‘†๐Ÿ‘‡ are only camera setting. I switched from F5.6 to F4 and you can already see the difference.
But because I was further away from the object the bokeh turned to be smaller.


dry stuff puddle bokeh 2.jpg


Time to get closer. Now the difference between me and the object is smaller than between object and the background = nice, big bubbles.


dry stuff puddle bokeh 3.jpg


Now go catch them all!


bokeh.jpg

ยปยซ
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center