My first experience in long exposure photography.

Hi friends,

A few months ago my bosses, due to my good productive performance and because they knew I was getting into the world of Hive, gave me a Sony Alpha 6000L camera.

Since then in my spare time I'm studying various photography tutorials on youtube and reading photographic tips on Hive.

One of the techniques that from the first moment has left me with my mouth open is the long exposure photography, since the photographs using this technique allow to capture the movement of the objects giving a very striking silky effect to the elements such as water.

ISO-100, f/5.6 and Exposure time 15 sec

To get a good result and that the photograph is focused I help myself with a tripod that I bought recently and to be able to do this type of photography during the day I also acquired a neutral density filter with variable selection.

Even with all this material, to get a more attractive photograph it is necessary to do a little postproduction work. In my case I use the PhotoPad program in its free version, which for beginners like me has the basic functionalities that I usually use:

  • Color adjustment

ISO-100, f/5.6 and Exposure time 15 sec

  • Photo cropping

ISO-100, f/5.6 and Exposure time 15 sec

ISO-100, f/5.6 and Exposure time 15 sec

Photography submitted to Photofeed Contest Long Exposure R-20

I find the cropping of the photograph very useful with the intention of being able to apply a better composition to the photograph. As an example, the previous photograph for this post I have cropped it again with the intention of placing the waterfall in one of the cut points of the rule of thirds and at the same time I have tried to find the exit of the water of the waterfall by one of the corners of the photograph and thus to obtain a greater effect of the water in a photograph that is a static format.

By the way, this small waterfall is located on the beach of Castello (Asturias-Spain) and on this beach I took the opportunity to take some additional long exposure photos with the help of the ND filter.

ISO-200, f/22 and Exposure time 10 sec

I hope you like my novice tips and the photograph submitted to the contest.

Regards.

Cover and separators created with https://www.canva.com (free version).

Photographies taken with my Sony Alpha 6000L and iPhone SE.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center