Ferrel Horses in the Snow - Semi wild horse herds near Kamloops

I do not know the full story behind these herd that are on the land just north of Kamloops. There are separate groups all over the vast forests and grasslands and to all account they are truly ferrel. Individial stallions have their own group of mare and you see the foals every spring.

I have enjoys watching and photographing these horses for over 20 years. Today it was bitter cold, below -20c.

dec_2021_dmarkel_ponies_full-2.jpgStallion paws the snow to get at the grass

dec_2021_dmarkel_ponies_full.jpgStallions running through the now.

While I was parked photographing the stallions eating on the one side of the road a group of mares crested the hillside on the opposite side of the road. This lovely stallion really wanted to be on the other side with the mares but was fenced off.

He ran and paced the fence line looking for a way through but it was all in vein.

jan_2021_dmarkel_harper_stallion_full.jpg

The previous spring I photographed the same stallion several kms away with the Harper Mountain Ski hill in the background. It is a symbol of the local area with its roots in ranching and skiing the local mountains.

Any chance I get I am aiming my camera at these beautiful horses.

~~
You can also check out what I am doing on other platforms:
Website
Instagram
Twitter

If you are into NFTs I am on...
OpenSea
Foundation
Tux

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center