Black Wolf

I only have one photo from this day but it is one of my favourites

I was out on a short hike in a place about 45 minute from town. I had parked fairly high up on an old road and had loaded up my pack with my camera and few items I would need through out the day and set off on a hike.

For the previous few weeks I had been having focus issues with my Sigma 150-600mm Sport. The calibration was off and I had been missing shots where I was locked on the subject. I had finally ordered the Sigma lens dock. The night before this hike I updated the software on the lens and today I had intended to test it with whatever happened to move in the forest.

Anyway back to the hike. I started down an old road in an area that had been logged about a decade ago. I was about 2 km into the hike and about to enter into the forest when a whitetail deer came bounding towards me. I was surprised by this because it wasn’t stopping even though it obviously knew I was there. I stopped and about 30m away the deer finally darted off the road and into the brush.

I look behind and this lovely wolf was stopped looking right at me. I had my camera out and before I could get the lens cap of it had turned and started to trot away. I moved to where it had been standing and I could see it off in the clearcut. I crouched and made a little “yip” sound. The wolf stopped and looked and I snapped a quick burst before it turned away and disappeared.

aug_2021_dmarkel_black_wolf_full.jpgBlack Wolf

This whole sighting only lasted 90 seconds and I was extremely lucky to get this shot. Without the software upgrade, if I had my camera stowed in my pack, for so many other little reasons I would have missed this shot. Today everything lined up and I will take the win.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center