A Young Coot Family and Coot Eggs!

For #sublimesunday instigated by @c0ff33a I popped down to my local lido to see if the swan's cygnets had hatched. Mrs Swan was still on the nest in her hideaway and Mr Swan was onguard. Unfortunately, they still hadn't arrived but it should be imminent!

Walking around the other side of the lido I did spot some cute coot chicks. I think they were about five in total. This little one was being fed.

I also saw another coot family nearby. They'd built a nest right next to the lido wall. I've never known them build next to the wall as it leaves them quite vulnerable, but so far so good.

Mrs Coot got off the nest briefly so it gave me an opportunity to see if she had any eggs.

I counted five eggs so I will keep popping down to the lido to see if they've hatched.

When I left Mrs Coot returned to the nest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center