The aroma of a coffee that brings you back to my arms

Happy day my dear readers and fellow bloggers of this wonderful platform, I'm @yelimarin and this is the first time I publish for this coffee community, I came to it thanks to my friend @wendyth16 since we both share the passion for this delicious drink, making my entry in the creative writing contest number 14 #spillthebeans, for which I invite my friend @alina97.

I found out today about this creative writing contest and loved the challenge so here begins my entry which is mostly a real life text, I hope you like it.


Fuente

image edited with InShop

"One more day without his company", was what I was thinking when I went to visit my maternal home, my father was traveling because that's what he does, despite being 70 years old, he travels around the country to keep his mind busy and get away from the depression of having lost his wife, my mother.

My brothers organized a small soiree where I shared with my children, my husband, nieces, nephews, siblings and some co-workers, mommy's house was filled for a while as it was when she was alive.

I felt an emotion with nostalgia that I could not explain, I know that they tried to make me happy at least one day and forget about the depression I am currently struggling with.

That day I decided not to take the treatment, I wanted to just be me and live my real emotions, at the end of the evening and the moment of the photos, my family and friends left, while my husband and children decided to stay at my parents' house because it was already very late.


Fuente

At about dawn a strange feeling of restlessness woke me up, I walked to the living room and there was my mother's old rocking chair right in the same place where she used to be, I approached and began to sway while with tears in my eyes I told her how much I missed her.

I felt cold, there were only her pictures and me in the lonely living room, I started to check on my cell phone the pictures of my birthday and to listen to the voice notes again where my dad was apologizing for not coming that night, the distance prevented him, but he made it clear that he had left something for me before he left.


Fuente

I started to check in the gifts a box with a card that said "For my Yelito, with love your mommy and daddy", my eyes filled with tears while I hugged the box, when I uncovered it I found a coffee maker, I did not imagine it.


Fuente

I saw the manual and observed three buttons to select the type of coffee I wanted, one of them was classic, another was rich and the last one was special, of course I did not hesitate to choose the special, while the coffee was brewing the smell that impregnated the place, made me remember while I sat in the rocking chair to wait, when I was little and my mommy would comb my hair to go to school and my daddy would arrive with three cups of coffee, mine was always the smallest, there he would wait for me until he finished to take me to class.


Fuente

When the coffee was ready, I sat in the rocking chair to enjoy it, while my mind traveled like someone watching a movie in front of his eyes, remembering when on cold nights my mom would prepare us coffee with cinnamon and she would wrap us in her arms, which at that moment, despite my age, I felt like they were hugging me again.


Fuente

I felt her warmth, her presence, her love and it was a magical time that the aroma of that wonderful coffee made me live until the last sip, I went to sleep with a wide smile of happiness for meeting her again in her energy and in her essence.


Fuente

That is what coffee brings to my life, the aroma of wonderful moments lived with the people I love.

This is an original story written by @yelimarin for HIVE All copyrights reserved. the images were extracted from pixabay to document the story for you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center