A Very Crazy Mistake


Photo by Felipe Giacometti on Unsplash


A Very Crazy Mistake

Moving is a hassle, but when you feel the atmosphere of your new home, the neighborhood where you will live, and the new things that will come, everything else doesn't matter.

Ah, this will be a new beginning, it only takes something extraordinary to open it, I thought, and I wish my thoughts had not been so powerful, because I would have avoided that crazy situation.

My friend Dave helped me with the boxes containing my things. After I put them inside, I set up the coffee pot and brewed an excellent steaming coffee for both of us. After taking several sips, we got to chatting.

"Okay, let's get to unpacking the necessities, I want to lay down on your new furniture," Dave said stretching his arms out and setting his coffee cup aside.

"Sure... Go ahead, I'll pour myself some more coffee."

As he did so, Dave started by opening one of the boxes, and, the first thing he saw, perplexed him.

"Hey, Leonard are these your clothes?" said Dave holding up a strange shirt.

"No, that's not mine, did you find it in one of the boxes?"

"Yes, it's full of ugly clothes that I know you would never wear."

I hurriedly looked through the box, but none of the clothes in there were mine. I glanced at the rest and the same thing; instead of my clothes, there were only very odd-looking outfits.

"Fuck! The movers made a mistake!" I shouted angrily. "I'm going to call them..."

"Wait, Leo, it looks like this one contains something else; it feels heavier." Dave asserted as he held it up.

We placed it under the floor and opened it, and to our surprise, we found something extraordinary.

"What the heck is this?" I asked, taking a closer look at the object.

"It looks like a coffee pot," Dave replied. "It's very odd looking, but I'm sure that's what it is."

"How do you know, have you ever seen one like it?"

"No, but I'll prove it."

Dave hurried over and placed the coffee pot next to the other one. It had no cord to plug in, which struck him as very odd.

"See? It must be something else." I manifested.

"Wait, it must be one of those modern coffee makers with built-in power." Dave insisted. I was already annoyed, but in the end, my friend found a similar compartment where coffee is placed to be brewed.

"Did you see? Now let's put some coffee in and get it going."

"I don't know, bro, remember it's not mine. I should be calling the movers right now." I spat with concern.

"Let's just make some coffee, please buddy. Then we'll clean it up and put it back in the box, shall we?"

I confess I was curious about the coffee pot too, so I couldn't contain my desire as I watched Dave's determined face.


Photo by Allen Taylor on Unsplash

"What the hell, all right! Make coffee come out of that thing!" I ordered Dave. He smiled and filled the coffee container, on the other side, filled the coffee pot with water and placed an empty carafe. The buttons were yellow and strange, but they indicated their function. Dave just turned on the machine and it started working very quickly.

In less than a minute, we had our delicious bitter black nectar. We poured into cups and, to each other's health, took a sip.

It was the most delicious thing I have ever tasted in my life, it was like a combination of flavors that made us ecstatic for a very long time. Our palates were having a party from our throats to the tips of our tongues. I watched Dave's eyes sparkle like car lights, then obfuscate and change color. I started laughing as my friend's appearance changed in different funny ways, and his voice went from low to high-pitched.

My laughter was getting louder and louder, so I decided to take another huge sip of that coffee. Dave did too until the whole cup was gone and he started laughing maniacally. We ran around the apartment, trying on for fun the weird and ugly clothes that came in the boxes.

We began to spin around, as the world around me distorted and shifted. I could feel objects moving and talking. They told us bad jokes that made us laugh at the end. And when the effect wore off, we would go and pour ourselves more coffee. It was all crazy, crazy hallucinogenic fun until the drink ran out. The effects began to wear off and, tired, we lay down on the floor to rest.

After several hours, I opened my eyes and caught a glimpse of a little man sitting on the couch staring at me.


Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

"You had a good move, huh?" Said the little elf. I tried to sit up, but my head was still spinning.

"Looks like you and your friend drank coffee out of my coffee pot. Big mistake. You could have been killed. That contraption is not for humans to use. Any coffee brewed there has devastating consequences."

I couldn't speak, my throat felt dry and sore.

"Relax, my friend, the effects will wear off completely soon enough. Your things are already here, I'll take mine, I'll never use the human moving system again! Goodbye." In a snap, the goblin and everything else disappeared, as Dave and I continued to lie there with our aching bodies.

Next time, when I ask for something extraordinary, I will be more careful with my thoughts.


THE END

Other publications of my authorship

[ESP-ENG] Crímenes en San Jaín (IV)
The Siren
[ENG-ESP] BONES AND ALL (2022) Cannibalism and disfigured romance
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency