The first breakfast in Spain - Coffee & toast

first breakfast in Spain.png

Love for a good coffee

I think I'm not alone when I say I can appreciate a nice cup of coffee especially if the setting is right. I have refrained from drinking coffee for about a year as I drank it too much and it gave me headaches. I already knew that there would be a point where I'd start drinking it again and the time has come, when I think about breakfast in Spain, I think "cafe con leche y una tostada con mantequilla y mermelada de melocoton" (coffee with milk & toast with butter and peach jam). I have many fond memories of that time we lived in Spain and the first breakfast we had this was of course our order as we wanted to see if we still enjoyed this as much as we did several years ago.

The total package

I have to admit, after adopting the habit of eating this breakfast in Spain when we ate out, I tried to make this at home during our stay in Budapest. I assumed that when I bought peach jam, I'd be a happy camper thinking I was in Spain again. The total experience is what makes it nice, sitting at a local bar surrounded by (you guessed it) locals that are all having their first meal of the day while enjoying a morning chat in the morning sun is what makes this a nice experience. And let's not forget about the Spanish chatter around us. I absolutely love it to the point that I can't even explain why I ever thought that Spain was not for me. I feel at home here and although I will never adopt the habit of drinking beers (at all) as the locals do, I want to adopt as many habits as possible when I do enjoy them. Blend in with the locals.

Exploring the area

While we yet have to explore most of this area, I'm quite sure we will not end up in this particular part we are staying at for two weeks. But that doesn't mean we won't make the most out of our time here. on the contrary, we will absolutely explore as many cafes and restaurants as we can, while at the same time also try to balance it out with homemade meals. The first day we walked to the Lidl supermarket our mind was set to have breakfast on the way to the supermarket. We sat down at the first cafe that had other guests and ordered our cofee with toast.

IMG_20220602_101626.jpg

Coffee with milk and a tiny fresh croissant, very good coffee!

IMG_20220602_101621.jpg

IMG_20220602_102109.jpg

The toast is served with butter and jam.

IMG_20220602_102350.jpg

I always wonder if the locals always use 2 butter per slice of bread because they always serve it with two cups of butter.

IMG_20220602_102339.jpg

Last, add the jam, and enjoy your breakfast!

Simple but good

You'd think you'd not get too enthusiastic about a simple breakfast like this but yet we both do. We have breakfast for about 6/7 euro in total and don't have to make it ourselves. We enjoy the morning temperature and Spanish chatter around us which makes it another nice memory to add to those already made.

It's truly these little things that I remember from Spain when we lived here before that make me smile over and over again. I want to keep enjoying the little and simple things and therefore I bet we will have breakfast outside when we can. Not every day, but a few times a week would be no punishment. It will also make me just drink one coffee in the morning to go with the breakfast, and drink water the rest of the day, while if I make coffee at home, I'd probably not stick to one cup.

Thank you for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now