Wish granted

I got up earlier than usual. I had a great excitement as I have circled the sun 60 times and it seems to me that this is a reason to celebrate.

I got to the kitchen and lamented because the coffee maker no longer works. Just as I finished thanking it for all the years of good coffee it gave me and tossed it in the trash, the front doorbell rang.

I wasn't expecting anyone, so I was a little surprised. With a quick gait I opened the door and no one was there, only a large package on the floor with a note that read Happy Birthday #60.

In my mind flitted ideas of who could have sent me such a big and heavy gift. But no one came to mind as I am not very sociable, nor do I have any friends.

With some effort I placed the box on the dining room table and opened it with a knife. It was a beautiful new coffee maker, one of those that brew espresso like in the coffee shops in the city. My eyes filled with tears of joy and I installed it on the counter where I could barely accommodate it because of its size.

The metal of the device was shiny and attractive, I could say hypnotic. On the front it had 3 power buttons with blue lights that indicated: Classic, Rich and Special. As soon as I read those names my mouth watered and I wanted to try my birthday present.

Following the drawings in the manual, because it was in a language I don't understand, I managed to activate it and pressed the special button. The steam started coming out and giving off the delicious aroma of freshly brewed coffee. I enjoyed every sip of that heavenly cup and when I finished, at the bottom some letters were slowly drawn I waited a bit and I could read: you have 1 wish.

I couldn't believe it. I was scared, but I wanted my wish. It looked like an extra birthday present and I thought a long time about what I could wish for at this moment.

I don't want money, I have enough to live well and a 60 year old person already money and material things don't interest us. I don't want to be so greedy to ask for eternal life, because at my age one is already tired of the day to day and to continue with this for eternity is a little complicated. And that's when it occurred to me what to ask for.

I took the cup of coffee in my hands and squeezed it tightly, I said: I want to be admired by everyone. That when they see me they feel they need something from me. I want to be popular among people, that they talk about me and how much they need me to be happy in their sad and heavy days. But above all, what I want most of all is to never be alone again.

Once I pronounced my words, thunder and lightning split the sky and I felt how I was transforming into something different from what I am.

When I could react from that turbulence that left me a little stunned, I could hear how a girl said to me looking at me fixedly: Thank you dear, I don't know what we would do without you. I sighed and knew that my wish had come true.

I am now the coffee machine in a university library.


separador corazon 1.png

I join @chacald.dcymt's invitation to the #STB Creative Writing Prompt 14 and would like to invite @gyp.karina11

The photos were taken with my ZTE Blade A3 2020 phone. The translation was done with deepl.com. Post of my authorship.

Diseño sin título.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center