This content was muted by Cinnamon Cup Coffee moderators for not following community guidelines.

Karupatti Coffee- It's Different

Have you ever heard of Karupatti Coffee? I am sure you have not! You know, when I was living in Bangalore, I used a local flavor. They called it Bella Kaapi. It probably tasted the same as the one I mentioned here, the Karupatti Coffee, which is popular in Chennai, where I have lived for a few months.

Let me add that Karnataka’s Bella Kaapi is also famous as palm jaggery coffee, made using jaggery by reducing the palm plants to make this black coffee. I always thought palm jaggery was better than raw sugar or the jaggery made of sugarcane. Incidentally, many people that do not use sugar in their coffee do not mind using jaggery as they feel it doesn't increase fat, thus saving them from obesity.

So the Karupatti coffee is prepared using water and palm jaggery. Karupatti Coffee is also useful for healing your cramps, cough, and cold if you drink it while it's still sizzling hot. I have tried it and it sure made me feel better. I can say that Karupatti Coffee is healthier than normal sugar coffee. I never use milk or cream, but just add the palm jaggery and water and your Karupatti coffee is ready.

Screenshot (250).png

When I made Karupatti coffee it looked like this

I remember the time I visited my mother's home and told my mother about palm jaggery coffee. My mother only smiled, but my sister laughed at me, as she thought it was no match for our Indian Cappuccino, which is kind of "hand beaten" without using any grinder or any other coffee making gadget. I am sure most of you will not understand what hand-beaten coffee is that we make in our regional areas.

It's easy to make, but not for the one who is making it, as it needs good exercise to beat the mixture. We have a simple process of making this by beating sugar, coffee, and milk until they get mixed well and then putting it on the stove until it gives us the feeling that it's ready to drink.

Bought from Amazon and Urban Platter

This hand-beaten coffee tastes different and unique, which most of you will find hard to believe. But next time you are ready to whip up a cup of cappuccino in our style, see what it tastes like. Sugar or jaggery, or nothing of these two, is your choice.

So here is the procedure to make this hand-beaten coffee and sugar/jaggery mixture, and then pour this frothy mixture into a tumbler filled with hot milk. Your tasty home-made cappuccino is ready without using any gadgets or electricity, which we badly lack in our regional areas. I suggest you try this fixture in a cup of cold milk. You will probably experience and feel the Dalgona Coffee!

I live in North India, but I can tell you that in the southern part of our country, where most coffee is produced, people really know how to make coffee in different styles, using different methods and experimenting regularly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center