A cup of coffee I had for the last time in Kharkiv, Ukraine before the war...

My life changed dramatically due to some unfortunate circumstances that I went through. Traumatic experiences not only affected my life situation but also my perspective on life. I keep asking myself why all these things are happening to me. Looking at my life timeline, I feel like my entire life has been a joke full of traumatic experiences. These thoughts keep bothering me every morning when I have my coffee and cigarette.

Speaking of coffee, my addiction to coffee started when I moved to Ukraine. I can't remember exactly how it started, but I think it was because of the cold snowy weather. Every time I went out, I had to have a cup of coffee before or after. There were so many coffee shops around my neighborhood in Kharkiv, and coffee was much cheaper at that moment compared to Europe. Recently, I stumbled upon some memorable photos of a coffee shop in Kharkiv where I had my last coffee. This experience was the last time I had coffee in a nice coffee shop in Kharkiv before the war. last experience of mine having coffee in a nice coffee shop in Kharkiv, Ukraine before the war.


20220221_154817.jpg

20220221_154732.jpg


Back then going to a coffee shop means to have me time or to hang out with friends. Mostly after finishing groceries, I used to go to regular coffee shops to have a cup of coffee before heading home. That was a regular routine in life. I cannot remember the name of this coffee shop but I remember that they started their business at the end of 2021. The shop was completely renovated, before this coffee shop, there was a meat shop and during the COVID-19 pandemic, the meat shop didn't work out. So after the pandemic situation, the same spot became a new coffee shop or cafe. I don't know if this cafe is still open or not because of the war but I am sure, the shop still exists. I had my go-to coffee shop so it took me some time to find this cafe near me.

I like spending leisure time in cafes rather than restaurants. I still feel that this cafe was unique and I haven't found any coffee shop here in Almere Netherlands like this cafe. I tried to find cafes here that offer some unique coffee flavors but here, most of the cafes offer the same coffee. In fact, Starbucks has a lot more to offer than the local coffee shops and of course, there is no comparison between the coffee price in Ukraine and Netherlands. But the good thing is I don't need to sell my kidney to drink coffee here in the Netherlands. 😁


20220221_154725.jpg

20220221_154714.jpg


Okay, now I can recall the name of the cafe after seeing this photo, "Coffee Gallery". The cafe was located in my neighborhood area; not far from my home. They also had outdoor sitting areas but during winter, people used to prefer sitting inside, a warm and cozy atmosphere. This cafe had a unique menu of coffee compared to other local coffee shops. They offered rose latte, mochaccino, vegan latte, and coffee with orange. I am not a fan of orange-flavored cappuccinos or lattes, they taste horrible. I don't understand why people love citrus flavor in coffee. Even in Almere, I have been asking around for matcha latte and Café glacé and they don't have it. Some of the waitresses give me such a look because either they never heard of such a coffee name or they think I am talking gibberish.

My current favorite coffee is decaf hazelnut macchiato latte and I only find it in Starbucks. I try to have this flavored coffee once in two weeks. Anyway, back to the past.

I was in this cafe with one of my friends, it was the weekend so we were meeting each other on a regular basis. We were having a good time; were completely unaware of what was waiting for us in the upcoming days. I wish I knew that my entire world was about to change within a week.


20220221_154745.jpg

20220221_154739.jpg20220221_154750.jpg20220221_154801.jpg

The cafe was almost empty, soft music was playing and we were enjoying our conversation while having our coffee. I had my regular latte but my friend took matcha latte because she was addicted to matcha flavor. Darn, those carefree, relaxing days often make me cry because now I can't even relax like that. I still go to local cafes, but I don't find that comfortable, cozy vibes anymore. The barista had done a nice coffee art on my coffee even though I took the takeaway cup. Here in Almere, you hardly will find such coffee art even though you are paying a lot. I noticed few cafes here and unfortunately, they (baristas in Almere Netherlands) don't do such coffee art. And about the local coffee shops in Almere, you might find a table in the corner in crowded cafes but you won't be able to enjoy your coffee due to the crowd. Sometimes I go to Dunkin Donuts and sit outside no matter whether it is sunny or rainy because I don't find the inside atmosphere comfortable.


20220221_154808.jpg

20220221_154735.jpg


This nice cafe would have been my go-to coffee shop if I stayed in Kharkiv if life stayed the same. But now it's a memory and a very special memory of having my last cup of coffee in Kharkiv in peace. Speaking of peace, I currently don't find it anywhere, unfortunately. I drink coffee every day but I don't enjoy it. I changed, my way of seeing life changed and my surrounding atmosphere changed.


This post might seem complaint box rather than my last coffee experience in Kharkiv but I just wanted to share my past and present experiences having a cup of coffee. ...


I know there might be a time when I will learn again to enjoy my coffee like before or a time will come when I will return to my home again in Kharkiv and will have that same experience of having a cup of coffee in peace...



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thoughts easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center