Kava2 Specialty Coffee 📍 Split 🇭🇷

kava2
Specialty Coffee Shop
Ulica Ante Starčevića, 1/2. Split, Croatia


Greetings from Split coffee lovers! An excellent and beautiful day has started, after yesterday's cloudy/rainy arrival.

I have rested quite well and while spending the morning on a long bus ride to the city center, I had plenty of time to think about the current proposal in #thecoffeeshopprompt on whether we have considered the barista world.

Thinking about it I headed to one of the several specialty coffee shops I've managed to find in Split, choosing this one as my first destination as it was a bit further away than the others from the crowded center, however the arrival time didn't work in my favor, the place had a full terrace and queue to order. So I chose ordering something to go.

While I was waiting for my turn, although it didn't take more than 5 minutes to serve me, I could notice that even though the place was crowded with tourists like me, there were some locals at the entrance, quietly sipping their coffees. I think it is a place for everyone.

My plan was to arrive very early and ask for a V60 to have my coffee quietly, but I didn't wake up that early hahaha I settled for a Cold Brew which would suit me quite well to walk under the radiant sun. This along with an apple and cinnamon bun cost 8€, specialty coffee shop prices. xD



I thought it was a good idea to sit and have breakfast in the Emanuela park, but I didn't stay long because there were some tipsy people asking for cigarettes, which I didn't have, and some young people drinking special beverages haha.

I decided to walk to the coast with my coffee, crossing the city for the first time and realizing that there were so many coffee shops in the city, very touristy at the moment. So it seemed to me that barista work in Split wouldn't be wrong, especially if all the specialty coffee shops like Kava2 were filling up that much.

I have sometimes fantasized about the possibility of entering the world of coffee, understanding a little more the detail of each profile and learning to play with pressure, temperature and other aspects that manage to create precise and interesting notes.

I think it is a way to immerse yourself and become more aware of everything that is behind that cup that brightens our day and fills us with energy. As I said, I have fantasized, I do not know if I would dare to get fully into it, although a forthcoming trip to Colombia promises to encourage me a little more.



At the beginning of my walk, I found myself wandering around some empty alleys, I didn't want to check the GPS while drinking coffee, I was taking pictures in some places and I could see that everywhere there is evidence that we are in Croatia, flags everywhere.

I also remembered something that I usually overlook and that is that in my last years of university I worked on weekends at the bar of a restaurant, so a big part of my job was to prepare coffees. They were nothing special, the basic ones that are consumed in Spain and the grain used was just a regular supermarket brand, so coffee was not the specialty of the place, however people said they liked it hahaha once they told me that I made very good carajillos but I think it was due to the alcohol content that they carry.

The most difficult thing that I prepared I think was the irish coffee because in the restaurant they were flambéed. The rest was knowing how to use the espresso machine more or less well. So if I wanted to venture out, I would still have a lot to learn. How about you?

Btw I couldn't get into the coffee shop, but I took it upon myself to leave a trace of Hive in the alley across the street. We have been there!



Thanks for dropping by!


Free Icons from: Iconfinder
Photo credits: All of the photos in this post
were taken by me with my Iphone 11 and belong to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now