I do “fancy” coffee xD


I think it is very important, in order to start talking about how much we invest in coffee, to clarify the type of coffee drinkers we are. Depending on this and on how accessible the market is, these expenses can be more easily understood.

I start drinking coffee after my 20s, for pleasure and curiosity, not because of a vicious need for extra energy.

So, I don't limit myself excessively in the quality of the coffee I buy, as long as I can afford it, I prefer quality rather than quantity, I prefer a single cup of high quality coffee a day.

Of course, being as objective as possible at the moment of purchasing. Although I avoid buying it in supermarkets, I look for roasters, so you have a better guarantee that the beans maintain the best of their characteristics.


I don't deny that if one runs out of coffee the easiest is going down to the supermarket, on these occasions I try to look for a coffee of Colombian origin and natural roast. The brand doesn't matter, but those elements are basic for me to like it.

But if I manage to organize myself, I prefer going to one of the specialty coffee shops in my city, Zaragoza. In Matisse they have their own brand, they import the beans and roast them in Zaragoza. The same is done by San Jorge Coffee Roasters who have a huge variety and are constantly launching specialty coffee offers.

What I like about buying at these coffee shops is that I stop by to stock up and also leave with an excellent quality freshly brewed coffee along the way. The last one I discovered in my city is Acho Café*, they aren't roasters but work with small producers who export high quality coffees. I've gotten wonders in Acho.


Starting the day with a cup of coffee that I really like, has become a kind of ritual over the years, is not essential, but it does influence my mood a lot. At home it's easy because I prepare coffee to my liking, but when I'm traveling I try, even if it is only one or two days, to stop by a specialty coffee shop to try something different and fun.

This selection of Berlin roasted coffees was available at a coffee shop in Madrid, where they also offer their own roasted options. With the summer heat, I like to look for a good Cold Brew while walking around and, being in Madrid this coffee shop, Urbano Coffee Roasters, is one of the ones I like the most.


I also have to admit that, being able to afford to spend a little more than average on specialty coffee, is due to the fact that a little more than a third of the coffee I drink per year, comes from gifts made by family and friends from Latin America who supply me when they come to visit, which happens at least once a year.

I mainly receive coffees from Colombia, because I like it the most, but I also from Costa Rica and Brazil, coffees that have a lot of potential.

I think it is one of the best things that someone can give, even more if you come from a coffee region, so I always treat those people with affection, you have to appreciate someone who gives you coffee as a gift, those things are very important in life hahaha.


I have already said that I prefer to spend a little more on a good coffee, so yes, it is possible that I splurge a little on it, trick is balance between what you need and what's pleasure. Coffee is a whim, but among so many, it's one of the least dangerous whims.

By this I say that if I go out for a coffee, I will most probably go for a special option, I go for filtered methods as chemex or V60, the price difference is considerable, but quality and quantity too.

In Zaragoza I love coffees from Elio & Coco and Justicia café. They are also great for a quiet time, the former for a good brunch and the latter to satisfy sweet cravings.


Isn’t always specialty coffee, many places i's rather difficult to find and I don't mind ordering regular black coffee, normal and unpretentious, as long as they don't add sugar I won’t complain.

It is not essential that I have an origin coffee on hand, but if I have the possibility to choose, I will definitely go for that option, so I go back to what I said at the beginning, it all depends on the type of coffee drinkers we are.

I'm surrounded by people who drink about 5 cups a day, even more, or who only put a little coffee in their milk. Also people who drink coffee only on days when they have slept badly, need to stay up late or use it as fuel while working. In cases like this, I understand that it may seem wasteful to spend more for a coffee that often costs three times as much as the one in the supermarket, it is ok for them to think this way.

It all depends on the type of consumer. That's why I chose the first picture of the post to start with, because for me it's just about pleasure.



Thanks for dropping by!


Free Icons from: Iconfinder
Photo credits: All of the photos in this post
were taken by me with my Iphone 11 and belong to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now