Sunday Grind:A Coffee Diary!

I drink coffee everyday that it seemed to be as ordinary as water. However, there's one day of the week that I think coffee is extraordinary special. And it's every Sunday!

PicsArt_10-03-07.59.49.jpg

My husband is working away from the city so he can only come home on weekends. While I usually work until Saturday afternoon so we only have uninterrupted family time on Sundays and that is what I always look forward to every week!

Today, 3rd day of October 2021, we will allow you to join us in our favorite bonding time - coffee time. So bring your mugs over because we will have some black coffeee!

NIK_0005.jpg

First of, let's get our jar of black gold. I sure want to snack on them right away but I'm gonna hold my horses for a much more gratifying black coffee later.

NIK_0008.jpg

Scoop some of these beautiful dark roasted arabica beans. I don't specifically follow a ratio because I use instinct. I allow my sixth sense to tell me when to stop. And for today's blend, I'm going to use 14grams of coffee.

NIK_0012.jpg

Now, are you ready to grind? This one's my favorite part. As I ground the beans, the air is filled with the aroma of the coffee - nutty, dark, bold, and lovely. I loved the smell of a fresh ground coffee; hence the reason of choosing this type grinding tool.

NIK_0033.jpg

Another reason for this purchase is aesthetics. I've seen this in my favorite Korean Drama series and I can't help but fell inlove with this rather difficult tool. We have another grinding tool but we purposely used this for the photos. I love coffee and I also love photographing it. Sharing good photos of coffee with all of you is my expression of love. I want you to virtually experience the good coffee I am having.


PicsArt_10-03-10.40.06.png

I don't pour in the hot boiling water, I wait for five minutes after the water has boiled before pouring it into my french press. Waiting for the finale is my cue to prepare the snack. I intentionally didn't took photo of our snack because I want to only highlight our coffee for today. We had our coffee after dinner when our daughter had fallen asleep. Adding the photos of the food to the list will only prolong my editing time. I took these photos just this evening and had to edit them really quick in my phone using lightroom. I really want to show you next time some simple lightroom tutorial that might help bring out the best in your coffee shots next time. Would you like such topic? If you think it would help, then I'd like to hear your opinion in the comment section below.


NIK_0056.jpg

Ready for the black coffee?

NIK_0062.jpg

Remember, once you go black you can never go back.

NIK_0087.jpg

NIK_0092.jpg

There you go fellas! Black coffee for you and me!

NIK_0094.jpg


Author's Note

I thank Peter, my husband, for being so supportive! He is the owner of those hands that made our coffee tonight. I love you Peter!

NIK_0096_edited.jpeg


4969E338-57A8-4B1D-BA8E-195F08BC7693.jpeg

Nikka Mededa, the author

I am an engineer, a mother, an aspiring photographer, and also a blogger. A workaholic mom who found its comfort through brewing coffee and making home-cooked meals. I write and read a lot but I think I collect books even more. And there’s nothing more fulfilling than finally ticking off the books my reading list. Hopefully, one day!

I really love to fulfill my childhood dream of becoming an author and so here I am, in my little corner in the blockchain. I hope you had a good read and check out more here ---> @nikkabomb. Lovelots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center