The summer heat is intense so it is definitely a perfect time for a cold brew coffee! Let’s prepare some Ethiopia single origin beans.

Hey, coffee lovers, how are you? How’s your week going on? Are you ready for some easy summer coffee brew?

The heat is already very intense… It’s already a month since the temperatures reached above 30 degrees centigrade, and the last week we had some days with peaks at about 35-36 degrees. It is really so tiring and i think everybody can enjoy some simple brewed coldvrew coffee.

I know that on the market there are some quite expenssive coldbrew brewing bottles ot jugs, but it isn’t that complex. Everything tou need is water, filter paper and of course, a tasty coffee!

This season I love brewing my coldbrew with this Ethiopia single origin coffee. It is not that expenssive and yet it tastes amazing. It easily beates some more expenssive coffees that are on the market, but let’s focus on the brewing process.

I start with 50 grams of coffee. You can alter your dose, but we go for a bigger quantity, because the cold brew coffee can last a couple days or more, without degradation of the taste.

Of coure, some water sprays before grinding, to reduce static and prevent coffee particles sticking to the grinder. Grind level has to be medium coarse, similar to AeroPress or filter brew. This will make the extraction good and you will be fine filtering your ground coffee after it’s done.

After the grinding is done, you simply put your coffee in a kitchen jar and mix it with some cold water. If you use filtered water, it will be better, but really… any water will do the job.

The coffee in the jar already smells amazing! I am always very impatient to the ready coffee, but cold brew coffee needs time! I ususally prepare the coffee before I go to bed, about 11 PM, and by the morning it is ready.

I never measure the water that I use when prepating my coffee, but for this post I put it on the scale. This jar managed to hold about 600 ml of water. The less air is left in the jar, the better. Now all you need is some patience. You put your coffee in the refrigerator and simply go to bed.

Next morning, about 6-7 AM I am ready to transfer my coffee and filter the grinds. I use my V60 brewing setup, but every filter cloth will do the work brilliantly.

When I pour the liquid on top, the beans usually stay on bottom. I now add some more water in the jar, mix it again and try to transfer all the coffee in the V60.

When the coffee entirely comes to the bottom jar, you are ready to enjoy your summer drink. Just put some ice qubes in a glass and pour 150-200 ml of the coffee. Enjoy! You will be surprised how tasty and refreshing it tastes!

See you soon!
Have a beautiful week… bye!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now