Confessing My Coffee Sin

There’s one guilty pleasure and maybe a sin that I am willing to admit on the blockchain. I have an affair with a fast coffee chain.

DSC03352.JPG

There's only one fast coffee chain that I really like but have never visited. Only two days ago when I got the chance to, I finally visited it because I was curious of their operation. There are some reasons as to why I like them and why I am willing to have an affair with a fast coffee chain.

I define a fast food coffee/ fast coffee chain as a coffee that’s often pre-made in which, unlike cafes and coffee shops where they manually make their coffee. I only get these types of coffee when I need a caffeine fix pronto otherwise, I avoid them like a plague. But, there’s one place in my hometown that I keep buying just because I can customize the sugar and the amount of ice. I always opt for no sugar and more ice. Just maybe when you thought I bought them because of the sugar, nope. I buy them because they have no sugar. I always drink about 3 to 4 of 16oz different coffees, all of them without sugar or less sugar.

I went to the place for the first time two days ago after my swimming session. I thought of checking the place since I am really curious how they made their coffee. They recently sell toast that I really like. Unlike other places, they serve toast with creamy mushroom sauce. The prices were also reasonable and quite friendly. So, it was all a good deal for me.

DSC03345.JPG

quite cozy, right?

I always knew that they’re going to be those fast food coffee chains. I imagined it was just a stall with a few minimalistic chairs and a person behind the counter handling the orders. I wasn’t entirely wrong.One thing I was wrong was , their place is quite fancy to be considered as a “fast coffee” chain. The place used to be a famous food chain that I visited back in 2018 with some of my high school colleagues. Now, it belongs to the coffee and toast place called “ kopi siip”.

DSC03346.JPG

Just when I thought they didn’t really care about the customer option, they did. The staff actually wrote “no sugar” in my cup. Now, I can be rest assured that every cup I ordered was without extra sugar. When I pulled out my camera, the staff asked me, “ Are you a photographer? Did you come here after a gig?”. I replied that I am not a photographer, just someone who likes taking pictures and I got to the place after swimming. I took some pictures around and also their toast. When I observed the place, I wanted to find DeLonghi or maybe Krups, something simplistic. But nope, no professional coffee on the counter. Nor did I see the guy pulling out a plastic filled powdered pre-made coffee. So, now I am left wondering, where did the coffee come from?

Just like in the grab app, I ordered mine without sugar. That day, I ordered some to dine in and take away. I like their iced coffee with milk flavored coconut and it has to be light. I also ordered another iced coffee light and one with matcha presso. They also have strong and light options which I really love. I think for people who still want caffeine fix but have gerd, those are great options to have. You can also order less, medium, or normal ice including sugar too. These are options that even some coffee shops don’t have that I think they should. As you can see below, these are their menu. I tried almost everything on the menu and they are all great. This i s the only fast coffee chain that I can endorse haha.

DSC03343.JPG

From what I recall, their cup design changes too. Last year, it was balinese dancer and now it's a volcano and a komodo dragon printed on its cup.

DSC03350.JPG

DSC03354.JPG

And if you ask me about the taste, they were fine. It was mediocre but the mushroom sauce elevated the toast. I tried some other sauces but I think the mushroom one is the winner. It was creamy and savory especially for their ham and cheese options. The chopped scallion on top was also a nice touch. I had some best toast but that one, I would say 6.5 out of 10.

DSC03358.JPG

DSC03362.JPG

They are the place I get my coffee from when I am too lazy to make coffee. Like once I said, coffee tastes even better when someone else makes it. They give me caffeine fix for the day and though I sinned, it’s really worth it.

Now that we talk about coffee sin, what would be yours?

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center