Choosing The Perfect Mug || How A Mug Affect Your Taste Perception

The importance of a coffee mug is often forgotten by coffee lovers. Many don't care where their coffee is poured into but I do. I care about my mugs and I confess despite calling myself a minimalist, my manic purchase always includes a ceramic mug. This article by Waka Coffee mentioned that your mug and the color of your mug affect the taste of it and your perception about the coffee. Another article mentioned about how the color of your mug can change your perception. For instance, White mugs have been associated with bitterness in coffee. Interesting isn't it?

mug1-removebg-preview.png

If you want to read the research on this check out the journal published by Doorn Van Et all Does the colour of the mug influence the taste of the coffee?.

What colors do I like when it comes to my mug?

White.
I often buy white mugs but I am not oppose to buying other colors. However, I tend to use the white mugs over the other color. There's also another consideration when choosing the mug. Different types of coffee shall be served in a different mug. So, you can not always serve the coffee randomly. You might but it may not be appropriate.

According to a coffee cup guide published by Nescafe, they divided the mugs into 10 types of coffee mug. For instance, the flat white cup is similar to the cappuccino cup, but smaller in size and shaped like a tulip, being narrower at the rim. The size of the flat white cup allows the coffee flavour to remain prominent, as well as have a silky smooth and creamy texture.. And you must us a tall glass for iced lattes instead of a mug.

mug2.jpg

I chose this mug because it was the only one displayed on the shelves. The other mugs were from porcelain instead of a ceramic. Not to mention, other mugs had a printed words in it which threw me off. I was about to order from online but I found out the price was cheaper offline. I already have a tall glass and a tiny round glass that I use specifically for dalgona coffee.

Anyhow, show me your mugs in the comment section!

Ref
Van Doorn, G.H., Wuillemin, D. & Spence, C. Does the colour of the mug influence the taste of the coffee?. Flavour 3, 10 (2014). https://doi.org/10.1186/2044-7248-3-10

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now