A Coffee Shop Bizzare Moment

ContentThumbnail.png

Slightly Uncaffeinated

Today, I really wanted to take some pictures with my camera. I wanted to find new objects to experiment on. And I know one coffee shop and bakery that really has an amazing scene and property. This particular place reminds me a lot of medieval bakeries or downtown shops in England or France. I have not seen many places like that, especially one that sells amazing bread and bagels. So, there I went with a grab bike. Anyhow, I won’t really name the place. I’ve been there twice and even bought them from grab food. That means, I really truly love their coffee and bread. Even after this incident happened, I still love their bread.

Long story short, I entered the place and requested to dine in. I made myself comfortable and the staff handed me the menu. I ordered a bacon muffin with a cappuccino. Then, while waiting I took out my camera and tested out the lighting. It was a while before my order arrived. When it arrived, the waiter told me, “ there’s a minimum spend if you want to use your camera to take pictures. It’s 300.000IDR” . I was puzzled.

“ Oh okay” I said feeling uncomfortable and turned off my camera. That was really the first time I entered a cafe that had such a policy. I never really have any problem in any place when I take out my camera and not my phone. First, I think they should make it up front that if you use a semi-professional / professional camera, you have to spend a minimum of 300.000 IDR which is around 20$. Second, that’s just bizarre. There was no sign nor policy stating no camera policy. People take pictures these days and even smartphones sometimes produce better results than a semi professional camera. In Indonesia that's a really bizarre practice. Almost everyone I know who lives here takes pictures of their food and shares it on instagram or wherever. But maybe, the place was camera shy? But I even saw some pictures of their place on google reviews from other visitors. So? I really don’t know why I should spend a minimum of 300.000IDR just to be able to use my camera.

I had some common sense. Even sometimes when I dine at a very expensive restaurant, I don’t take the pictures. I would rather enjoy it, myself. But across places in Indonesia, I never stumble on the issue that I can’t take pictures with my camera especially if it’s just a cafe. Remember when I didn’t even post a trip because I am respecting the copyrights policy? I would do the same thing if the place clearly states that. I could have argued but often, it’s not worth my energy nor time. I didn’t even finish the coffee but I finished the muffin because it was too good not to finish it.

Right after I reached the co-working space, I asked my concierge if that’s normal around Bali. He hesitated saying that there are some specific places where they are very straightforward. Even at the co-working space, you have to be a member first before taking pictures. I was allowed to because I am already a member. He advised me that maybe next time, I can ask for permission before pulling out my camera. That’s the lesson I learned today that I have to keep in mind. But really, it sucks when I can’t do that with my camera.

Do coffee shops and cafes in your area have similar policies?

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now