Caffeine Experiment: Tea Or Coffee?

Lately, I have been experimenting with my caffeine intake because I become sleepy sometime during the day at work. My family and friends know how much I love my tea and coffee and my siblings have joined the wagon. The power of influence! Lol.

I always start my day with a cup of coffee to go with my breakfast. This has been my routine for most of my adult life. At work, I noticed that when I drink coffee in the morning, by afternoon I start to feel a little sleepy. So I make a cup of tea after which I'm wide awake and active within minutes.


IMG_20220606_102041.png


I wondered whether the brand of coffee I drink is not working or if I need to drink more than usual. I am careful not to overdo this. I decided to experiment with drinking tea only. I'm thinking which of these two beverages has more caffeine to keep me awake and active throughout the day?

I have a box of different tea flavours and am always spoilt for choice. So I tried a cup of black tea every morning for about a week. Sometimes, I mix it with green tea. I infuse my tea bag in a mug of hot water for as long as 8-10 minutes to draw out all the caffeine.

The longer a tea bag stays in hot water, the more caffeine is released into the tea (for those who don't know). Also, when you take the teabag out of the water and press it against the body of your mug or tea cup, more caffeine is released!

I don't know if it's the longer infusion of the tea bags but throughout that week, I was more energised all through the day. So I alternated this new routine with my coffee on some mornings and by mid-day, I'm a little tired and craving another cup which doesn't work well for me.

I love coffee simply for the taste and aroma. I also love my tea just because. Haha. Staying energetic and active all day, especially at work means more to me so I ordered more tea from Ahmad Tea website.

Another Tea Flavour

Among the flavours I ordered is a herbal tea called Immune comprising lemon, ginger and turmeric.


IMG_20220606_100516.jpg


IMG_20220606_101929.png


I tried this tea in the evening and it was refreshing. Once hot water is added to a tea bag, the aroma of citrus permeates the room and I believe it's because of the lemon in it. I didn't smell or taste any ginger so maybe the quantity in each bag is light but overall, I enjoyed the tea.

The taste went well with my spicy dinner and it's soothing to my digestive system. Before I finish this pack, I'll be sure to buy more.

It's a general belief among coffee drinkers, I think, that coffee is stronger maybe because it's a popular beverage but I believe it's tea that has more caffeine. I have tried it and it worked for me. What do you think?

Still, I won't stop drinking coffee. I'll just keep alternating the beverages and watch the amount of caffeine in my system daily.

Thank you for visiting my blog.

Images are mine taken with my phone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now