Coffee for Anxiety

I was walking back to the doctor's clinic to have my clearance signed when I heard the nurse shouting my last name.

I wondered, "Why would they be calling me when I was done with my consultation?"

As I stood in the lobby with the queue of patients, one male patient, wearing a hat and a face mask stood and was waving his hands as if saying hi! to me. I can also see a smile through his eyes and forehead.

Who could this person be?

I was trying to recognize him as I was trying to decide fast whether to wave back or what. Until I saw his shirt. It was the same shirt I gave him.

Gosh. How could I not recognize my dad?

Well, to be fair, he was wearing a face mask so I didn't easily recognize him. Plus, he looked young. 🤞🏼

I asked him why he was there and he said he had been feeling uneasy the past days and he had few hours sleep every night since the dispute on the land he was tilling. He says he already accepted the fact that he will have to forego the land but since then, he always take things negatively.

I looked at him and he seemed someone trying to look brave.

I decided to go to the doctor with him so I stayed with him in the queue. He was diagnosed to have acute anxiety disorder.


I invited him for lunch when we were done in the clinic.

Dessert and Coffee after meals.

Cafe Latte for two

Special cinnamon bread for two.

Ube Ensaymada for two.

I included in my order coffee and dessert which I requested to be served after meal.

I also asked for a leave from my boss.

I need to talk to my dad.

We had lunch and spent a few hours after telling stories. I asked him what happened. He freely narrated and I am grateful he opened up to me. He has been tilling the land for years and he was lead on that the land will eventually be his. But there were changes of mind, words said and he knew we wouldn't have peace of mind if we fight.

I told him that is something we cannot control. And I admire him for peacefully letting go. He said he accepted it already.

So, instead of lingering on the issue, I suggested plans on the land he inherited from my grandparents. Hoping that will help him look forward into the future.

Honestly, I realized I'm a lot like my dad, emotionally. I've been experiencing the same but I am fighting back and holding myself together. I find it hard to share it to someone else. And in situations like this, I know that the best thing is to have company, someone who listens. And I want my dad to feel he has company. There is someone who listens.


This is memorable for me because it is actually the first time we went out together and shared some stories.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments