A broken teapot tea party

I’m on a mission to tidy up, clean out my house and deliver myself from junk. While rummaging about in a storage cupboard I came across an old silver tea set that looked in sore need of some love. It’s a really beautiful old set, but so tarnished that the “pretty” hardly showed. Of course it’s a travesty to treat something so lovely, so badly and after berating myself I set out to discover how to fix it. The coincidence is that it’s “tea” week in Cinnamon Coffee Cup and I wanted to refurbish the set before the countdown on the prompt.

However, (hehe), fixing the tea set is not a simple matter and requires hours of baking soda baths, and tons of rubbing with a soft cloth. I’m not shy when it comes to working hard, but the task seemed extremely daunting. Nevertheless, I set out to accomplish the deed and after seeing the results of my labour on the sugar bowl, my enthusiasm skyrocketed.

Suddenly, I could imagine turning the tea set into a tea party. Hehe, I began dreaming about cupcakes, muffins, flatbread with falafel, hummus, sesame balls, scones, cream, jam, sliced fruit and tiny sandwiches, toasted to perfection and filled with delectable delights. Naturally, all of these goodies need to be served in style if it’s going to be a good tea party and you have to have tea, too! The whole thing became fun, clean outta nowhere and chaos descended on the kitchen, the level of which you can glean from the “fix-the-tea-set” images below.

I’m not very sane most of the time, and I’m always thinking about food, but this mission took on the colors of an obsession. Hehe, nutty Susan, always on the trail of the outlandish, exceptionally impossible and expensive. Not daunted by my understanding of my more eccentric traits, I worked at a furious pace. I truly hope that the pictures of my eventual enjoyment explain my crazy 😛

Originals, before the effort

I grow a lot of herbs so my tea of choice is usually a concoction of herbs. Today it's Nasturtium and Rosemary, but it could easily be ginger and lemon or mint and thyme.

Now the tea spread—cupcakes, sesame balls, vegan toasties.

Now look at my sexy teapot, it was made by Oneida Silversmiths of SP Copper in Canada. (Hehe! Its not very valuable at all, but it is to me)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center