Dangerous combination. Coffee & Alcohol what’s not to like.

That time of year again with my annual trip down to Cornwall so once again a pilgrimage to the Pocketful of Stones Gin Distillery in Penzance is on the cards. The tasting are still being run from the cocktail bar on Causewayhead in Penzance.

IMG_0132.jpeg

The tasting format hasn’t really changed much and it’s all kicked off with a very generous Gin and tonic. There’s a history of Gin in the UK, a talk on distilling equipment and the process. Finally some background behind history of the Pocketful of Stones brand, their own gins a taste of some of the gins Pocketful of Stones produce.

IMG_0133.jpeg

Unfortunately they have run out of the classic tins for the squid ink gin which is now being sold in standard bottles while new tins are being made, The price has been dropped though.

IMG_2777.jpeg

Every year they seem to bring out sorting new last time I went it was the Cider Brandy which is perfect for cooking one of my favourite dishes of Pork and Calvados.

IMG_2780.jpeg

This year it’s a Tequila based coffee liqueur. The Tequila comes from a small batch Mexican distillery and then miraculously transformed into El Cafe Agave by Pocket Full of Stones.

IMG_2778.jpeg

I was lucky enough to pick up a couple of bottles from the first batch. I’m not sure how long it’s going to last though a week in and 1/3 of the first bottle is gone and I haven’t even tried it on a Affogato yet I must put some vanilla ice cream on the shopping list.

IMG_2779.jpeg

Talking to the owners they plan to try there hand at some rums which has always been my favourite spirit anyway I guess it comes with being a bit of a pirate I can’t wait till the next trip.

So Hivers if you ever find yourselves in Penzance on a rainy afternoon head over to Pocketful of Stones you won’t regret it.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center