I Love My Mum, But She Might Love Coffee More

Let me start like saying I love my mum. No actually, I really love my mum.
I keep saying that if I have the opportunity to ever come into this world again, I would look for her and make her my mother again.
I'm smiling as I write this.
I told my mum, "One day I'm going to write a book" and she looked at me and said, "I will be the first in line to read that book".
Again, I love her.

Snapchat-56673020_1.jpg

IMG_20220409_174645_818.jpg

Snapchat-1356769028.jpg

Growing up, my Dad told my brother and I that coffee wasn't for children.
I've always been a curious one, so when he wasn't looking I snuck a little into my mouth and that was my first taste of it. I never wanted to drink it again.

The funny thing is that now, I can't remember the last time I saw my Dad drink coffee.
My mum on the other hand, stopped everyone in the house from drinking tea.
I don't think I can even recall how it tastes.

Recently in school, it was raining heavily and a friend of mine offered me tea, I turned it and said I only drink coffee. So I went from a girl not allowed to drink coffee to a girl hopelessly in love with coffee.

If my memory serves me right, exactly two years ago, during a break from school. My mother and I stumbled upon The Originals, the sequel to The Vampire Diaries and we were both hooked.
My mum would wake me up around six in the morning so we could continue from where we stopped the previous day.

It was just the two of us in the house, and I kid you not when I tell you that we both drank coffee and ate bread for two weeks straight until we finished that series.
I didn't want to miss anything by going to cook and she didn't want to pause it to wait for me, so coffee was our salvation.

The milk in the house suffered during that period because my mum loves hers extra milky.
It's unfortunate that I don't have any pictures of us during that time together, guess we were too focused on the movie to think of anything else.

Last year, I got accepted to intern in the company where my mum worked as the Kitchen Supervisor.
The norm of the place was that only kitchen staff were allowed in the kitchen. I worked in the Microbiology department, yet I was always found in the Kitchen.

I think I consumed more coffee last year than I've done my entire life. Why?
It's all thanks to my mother.
I consider myself a coffee lover but my mum is just on another level.
I'm sure without a doubt that if I do get married and have a home of my own, a packet of tea will be the last thing found in there.

Reading through this, you might think our relationship is perfect, but it's not.
We fight a lot.
A few months ago, she woke up in the morning and said she wanted to eat Bread, egg and drink coffee.
I successfully made it past cutting the bread and frying the egg stage and then it was time to make the coffee.

I took out the Nescafe tin, opened it and I realized it had finished. The worst part?, I had been the last person to use it.
I'm about to exaggerate here, but the ground of my house shook like there was an elephant stampede when my mum walked through it.

How could I finish the coffee in the house and not talk?
That wasn't all she screamed at me, but that was the main focus.

I know I said I loved my mum but in that moment, I loved my Dad more because he saved me by going out to buy more coffee.
Ah, the good times.

It has always been the two of us.
The two women in the Perry Nelson's household right from the very beginning.

IMG-20230315-WA0065.jpeg

I hope we still have a lot more time to spend together because if there's one person I want to travel the world with, it's her.
IMG-20221125-WA0008.jpg

IMG-20221227-WA0004.jpg

We would finally get to visit coffee shops and do one of the things we both love doing together, simply just drink coffee.
I don't think we will be able to talk about our boys though, nobody is taking my Dad's place and I most definitely wouldn't want to hear about their activities.

But all in all, I'm grateful for the mother I was placed with and I wouldn't trade her for the world.
A cup of coffee?.... Perhaps, but the world….No.

All imagines are mine

Happy Mother's Day to all the wonderful mums out there❤️❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center