I was impressed by the Café de Senegal 🇸🇳☕

Hello coffee lovers, I hope you enjoy a good cup of coffee wherever you are.

When I saw this week's proposal I remembered my file when I met a music group from Senegal that came to Venezuela in February 2020 for a meeting of Afro Cultural Exchange.

Venezuela was a country where slavery was present, this history unites us deeply, because the truth is that there is a significant population of Afro-descendants, many of us carry the blood of those who were kidnapped from Africa and turned them into slaves, those who never returned and stayed here while in Africa those who had lost them, mothers, fathers, grandparents were waiting for them, and this ancestral heritage unites us despite the distances.

1000041030.jpg

1000040889.jpg

During the first two days I saw all the Senegalese with a large bottle of 1.5 lt and every time they drank, ie each one drank 1.5 ml of coffee and often refill the bottles up to 2 or 3 times per day, at the beginning I thought about the time change, I said it must be to stay awake and be aware for all activities, since there were many and had no time to rest.

1000040888.jpg1000040887.jpg

But already on the third day there was more confidence, one of them offered us to taste the coffee from Senegal.

Yes, they brought their own coffee, as a good coffee lover I was excited, I really wanted to try it.

I had never tasted anything like this before!

It was the first time in my life that I tasted a coffee brought directly from Africa, I was very curious.

As you know I not only love to drink coffee but also to know more about its origins and history.

This coffee was Touba, which most of its percentage is between 85 to 90 % of Robusta coffee and 10% of Guinea bell pepper.

If capsicum, a spicy coffee?

Yes, it is a spicy coffee! This made a big impact on me, I had never tasted it before and for me it was something impressive. Personally I am not a spicy lover but I loved to know this coffee.

For me in my culture coffee can be with hints of chocolate, citrus or amaranth, there are many ways to prepare coffee with other components but never with spicy. So for me this was very rare, but I enjoyed getting to know this Senegalese coffee.

1000040890.jpg

Then we had a dinner to share and I was given 500g of Senegalese Coffee, which I used for a long time for tasting with friends who visited me at home.

No doubt to know other cultures will always be a fortune, we shared a lot we laughed a lot and I had this great experience of knowing a little closer to Senegal through its people and its coffee.

Until the next coffee ☕</center

Carmen Victoria Turmero

I am audiovisual producer, nature lover, creator of the Ecovillage and Community Vida Verde , passionate about travel and architecture.IMG_20220703_235639.jpg

https://instagram.com/vida.verde.ve


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center