The coffee pot with the mysterious buttons

Last month was my 34th birthday. To celebrate, I invited some friends to the house and my best friend @ismaelgranados surprised me with a coffee maker, just the one I wanted that prepares coffee in those little capsules. I loved it.

It was the best gift of all and I was anxious for everyone to leave to try my new coffee maker. It was 23:30 and there was the coffee maker, the little coffee capsule and me, ready to start our adventure. I put the capsule in its place and when I finally went to activate the coffee maker, I found 3 buttons. I was surprised by the great variety that my electrical appliance offered me. I felt happy and thought about the option I wanted.

The buttons located on the side of the coffee maker indicated in shiny silver letters: classic, rich and special. I thought of trying the classic first. I added a cup of water and the clock struck midnight just as I pressed the first button.

Classic Coffee

Immediately everything began to spin as the pendulum clock struck 12. I held on to the table, as I thought it was an earthquake.

A chime of a little bell, indicating that my classic coffee was ready, sounded in the coffee pot. I lifted my cup and everything seemed to go in slow motion. I took a sip of coffee and it was an exquisite, unique and exciting taste.

Automatically, after my sip of classic coffee, the room began to change. Stunned, I could see how my modern furniture turned into an antique style. Everything became very much like my grandmother's apartment some 50 years ago.

I got up from my chair and walked over to the window. Outside everything was old. And across the street from my apartment was some kind of pizza place that was open. So I went downstairs and across the street to see where that place had come from.

I walked in and there were some people in leather suits, platform shoes and some elevated hairstyles. It looked like an old movie and I got a little scared. I watched them all for a while and they seemed to be in a normal night of their lives, so the one who didn't fit in was me.

Overwhelmed by this situation, I set out to return home. As I was about to cross the street, I heard a woman scream. I peeked into the alley behind the pizzeria and there was a man hiding a corpse-like bundle in a black car.

I stifled my screams with my hand. And just before the man got into the car he turned towards the light and I could see his face perfectly. Very shocked I went back to my house and I could see that in the kiosk on the corner, where they have always sold newspapers since my grandparents were children, was the newspaper of the day with the headline: Another woman mysteriously disappears. Police still can't find any clues. September 1960

Crying and with trembling hands, I arrived home. I sat down to calm myself and figure out how to get back to my reality, as this was not my time.

I looked at the coffee pot and it was still in the same place. It occurred to me that it was to blame for what was happening to me. So I made another coffee, this time I would order it rico.

Rich Coffee

When my coffee was ready, the exact same thing happened. After the sip of rich coffee, my house turned into an office. I got really scared and I could see how in the hallway, where the dining room used to be, there were some policemen talking.

They entered the office, I understood that it was an office of the police station. They settled down at a desk and the chief of police, a detective who looked experienced, confessed to being frustrated that he had no leads on the case of the woman killer. He wanted to understand why he took the young girls and they always disappeared at night, during the month of September and without leaving a single trace.

The man seemed overwhelmed and it seemed that there was no solution to his case. I looked at the clock on the wall and it read: September 1980.

When everyone left the office, I got up to the coffee pot. I had to try one more time, I felt tired and very disturbed with this whole killer situation. This time I would press the last button to see what was going to happen.

Special coffee

I took a bigger sip of that special coffee. It was definitely special, its aroma filled the whole place and its bitter and sweet taste flooded my palate and made me close my eyes to enjoy it.

When I opened my eyes I was at home. I felt agitated, I was drenched in sweat and my pendulum clock read 7 a.m. on September 26.

I quickly grabbed my phone and started researching through the reports of the mystery killer case, which struck every year on this date.

I went to the police station and looked for the detective. He looked old and tired now. He didn't see me because I hid among the people in the corridors of the station, but I made sure he got a note telling him everything I had seen and a very clear description of the man who owned the old pizzeria on the pier.

The detective got up euphoric and went out with a police unit and reinforcements to capture that wicked man.

I saw on the news how the detective thanked me for that note and for the 3 capsules of coffee I left him. They caught the evildoer and prevented him from suffering one more victim.

Screenshot_2022-10-09-20-05-20-055-edit_com.canva.editor~2.jpg


Imagen1.png

This is my entry to the #STB Creative Writing Prompt 14, I invite @ismaelgranados and @tere.alv to participate.

Imagen1.png

dc.png

Original content by the author.
Resources: App: Canva
📷 Redmi 10 Smartphone
Translation done with Deepl.com
✿ All Rights Reserved || © @chacald.dcymt // 2020-2022 ✿
💌 Discord: chacald.dcymt#3549

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center