Coffee Musings | Coffee for the Workshop

"Coffee is the best thing in life because it brings people together."


-Unknown


Mid-week Coffee.png


Hello there, coffee-and-beverages lovers!


My stories about classes are in some measure related to coffee. I used to have coffee with milk during my school years before going to my first class. During college, I had the chance to have a lot of coffee. And during those last years I could go to @marlyncabrera's office and have a cup of a really nice black coffee and without sugar, just how I like it.

Two weeks ago I had the chance to get back to teaching and be the for a group of people interested in the art of Haiku. Among the suggestions, I had the nice idea, given by @adncabrera, to make coffee three days in a row for the participants and for myself.

And making coffee is much like writing a haiku. It is a moment that is captured in a sensorial experience. Converting such an experience into poetry is an interesting task. Water boils. Coffee goes in. Add spices. Let it simmer. Strain it. Let the small sink in. Put it into a thermos. Get a cup to taste. Bring it to class. And have it become some sort of elixir, waking up minds and giving people time to relax and build a rapport in class.



Swipe to see the photos



It wasn't until the last day, that coffee ran out. It was interesting since it was the day I made the strongest brew. Maybe people liked it as such. I added some cinnamon and cloves to the mix to give it more aroma. And also because I don't like adding sugar to coffee.

One of my students brought some cookies and gave me some coffee to make. Another brought cake for the last class.

And it is as such that coffee is usually related to so many intellectual activities. My first poetry workshop couldn't be different. It is cool to keep alive a tradition that started in Africa, went to the Ottomans, reached Europe during The Enlightenment and then came to America.

And maybe coffee was the catalyst of really amazing haiku that were produced during the workshop. I know its all about the quality of students I had. That's for sure.

There's a thing about these workshops that feels amazing. I like to take them, but teaching them is certainly an experience I hope to relive again soon enough. And you can bet there will be coffee involved in the mix!


This boiling water,
a tribute to tradition-
taste centuries


Such a humble brew
carries echoes of the past
to the modern age


  • Photos 📷: Redmi Note 13

  • Thumbnail 🖼️: Canva.

  • Editing 🎬: Adobe Photoshop Lightroom.


Banner Hive.png


Follow me on Instagram for enquires and commission.

If you'd like to help the workshop grow, you can make a donation here.

You can find me at discord as bertrayo#1763

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center