You drink your coffee while I waffle on - recipe included

Flopjacks and Waffles - with Coffee


Waffle4.jpg


I'm probably not the best role model for my 4 year old daughter Lory when it comes to sweet treats and desserts. My sweet tooth is refined and as much as I love my coffee, I also enjoy something sweet to accompany it. Once or twice a week Lory and I will either have something sweet out at a coffee shop or we'll make something here at home.

Lory seems to have her favourites and this week she was determined to make flapjacks without a recipe and without any help. She didn't do too badly all things considered and the only thing that went horribly wrong was when she added about 200ml of cooking oil to the mixture. It took me a good 20 minutes to fix that. So I called them FLOPJACKS. I have photos of them, but they aren't very appetising to be honest, hence them not making an appearance here. They didn't taste too bad with syrup, but we hopefully will make a better version the next time.

On Wednesday we went to collect the gazebo out of storage and I found our waffle maker sandwich toaster. I know that sounds weird but it is essentially a sandwich toaster with waffle plates instead of flat toaster plates. I decided to bring it back with us. We had a mission to make waffles yesterday.

They turned out beautifully golden brown puffy little pillows of deliciousness so I decided to share the recipe with you, it's the best waffle mixture I've ever made. I don't like waffles that are clumpy and lumpy - this mixture is smooth and rises nicely in the toaster without having that sharp taste of baking powder.

Waffle Collage.jpg


Wet ingredients:
2 large eggs - beat them by hand or with an electric beater until light and fluffy.
1 and 3/4 cups milk (approx 437ml) - add this to the eggs and mix well
1 to 2 teaspoons of vanilla essence or half teaspoon of vanilla extract - stir into the egg-milk mixture.
1/2 cup (125ml) vegetable oil - pour in and stir.


Dry ingredients:
2 cups of all purpose flour or cake flour
2 to 3 tablespoons sugar (or a substitute if you don't use refined sugar)
4 teaspoons baking powder
A quarter teaspoon of salt to taste (essentially a large pinch will do)


Sift all the dry ingredients into a bowl and then slowly add this to the wet mixture a few tablespoons at a time. Mix it as you go and scrape down the sides of the bowl.

I like my mixtures to be very well mixed and smooth but if you prefer them lumpy, then mix until everything is just combined.

Spoon the mixture onto a set of hot waffle irons and cook until they are golden brown.

Add your favourite syrup and either ice cream or whipped cream.


Chocolate Ice Cream Waffle.jpg


Indulge with some coffee and waffles and spoil yourself. This is a great treat and will go down really well as dessert for the whole family (after dinner, not a substitute for dinner lol).

This mixture will make 4 large waffles or up to 8 small waffles. The mixture can also be covered with cling film and refrigerated for up to 4 days, just mix it up well again before you cook it.

You could also make a savoury version of these by cutting out the sugar, adding more salt or some flavouring herbs to the mixture and topping them with mince.

If you do make these, let me know how they turned out. Enjoy!

Divider Grey Heart.png

Backing5.png










H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now