Tales for the Lost Ones 🕊️

Being from a big family, it's a given that the cold hands of death are always at the ready for the older members.
Now I was never one known to submit to grief or mourn over a lost one.
Although it's a personal belief, I think it's insulting to cry for their deaths.
That being said, doesn't mean that I wouldn't feel sad that one is gone forever, of course I would always remember their tales.

20230513_083740_0000.png

Image made using Canva


The first lost tale I would like to tell is about a dog Bolt. When they tell you that a dog would be part of your family you should never doubt them.
A playful dog at heart, always working with his brother to come out of their cage and enter inside the house, knowing fully well that he's an outside guard dog.
Unfailingly loyal yet territorial, another being can't dare enter the compound without his consent.
A true trickster, you can never figure out his next move. You can be leading him to his cage and take your eyes off him for a second then bam!
He's gone under a car awaiting you to search for him and give up, earning some few extra minutes outside.

beautiful-nature-g4cb1f2ca7_1920.jpg

Death by a heart attack and old age. Hurt me the most as I was closest to him and always in charge of everything considering dogs. Hurt his brother more as they were chained together when he slumped.
Till now I swear I can still hear his whines when he wants to get out of the cage.

A good boy till the end.🦴


The second tale I should tell is the one of bolts brother, following him 4 years later.
Cody was the pure opposite of Bolt.
Where bolt was the hyperactive, slim black and white German, Cody was the tanned big muscular kind of lazy German😂. My dog didn't like stress😬
One thing most notable about him was his coat, he had the best shade of tan, with the underside going a bit white and the tips of his coat going a little black when wet.

IMG_20210605_100605(4).jpg

Although the fact that he was lazy doesn't make him unreliable, a ferocious fighter when protecting his pack, for after we lost bolt, we decided to get two females and an extra male. He being the eldest made him the leader of this small pack.
Although him being the eldest also made him have to defend his position a lot as the male was getting a bit overzealous.(I had to settle a lot of fights 😕)
After some time, it was clear he was getting older and weaker and after many battles the new male finally won.
He lived a quiet life after that, mostly sleeping and eating while the new male had to settle the quarrels between the two ladies and kids (I think Cody kind of got the better end of the deal though 😂)
The night when he left was a traumatic one, I remember about to settle for bed when I heard my name.
I came down and I saw my beloved Cody on the floor, I could swear I saw the relief in his eyes when he saw me. Immediately I knew it was time. The other dogs were howling some of my siblings crying but I was just silent, and held him till he left.
Although gone his kids remain, here's his last pup mated with my female rottweiler.

IMG_20230513_075644.jpg

Hope he knows his dad was a Fighter, an Alpha and a friend🐾.


The last tale I would like to share is one that I'm still not done writing.
I'm not done cause it's a fresh wound and I'm currently processing it all.
My mum's mother, a woman who was a true woman at heart.
Staying with her husband all throughout his years of illness and seeing his death through with strength, now is following him a year later.
Everyone is distraught especially my mom who's currently at her burial service. (I couldn't go cause of this school.)

A loving grandma, I remember her house being a meeting point for the whole family and having to go there every holiday.
Lots of drinking, eating and making merry then when we're going back the little monetary departing gifts, my heart and wallet would miss her greatly.😭😭😭

IMG_20230513_172916.jpg

A friendly grandmother, loving mother, a true woman 🔥✨


Sunset Image by RÜŞTÜ BOZKUŞ from Pixabay


Well I came back to hive to see the @dreemport challenge by @dreemsteem and I knew I had to write on the topic even though the challenge post had past😂
Call it a little appreciation for these personalities gone that is well overdue🙂.

23uFcDgWMAA5n458EmMGtVBDHcwBMqsm6eUkjEDBDZNdWv8GHVuBuWcFqJJkkb2usuLSH.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now