Podcasts: A Window to Mindful Listening

pexels-jeshoots-7409.jpg

I remember how I first learnt about podcasts. I had just finished secondary school when I received my first smartphone as a graduation gift. There were many apps already installed by my parents, so I explored them whenever I wanted. One of these apps was Spotify; I can recall how it felt like a radio in my phone at that time. I would download anything I felt like and start listening to it with the aim of drifting to sleep to the soothing voice of the podcaster.

This routine continued until I stumbled upon a certain podcast. I can't remember the name, but I can never forget what it was about. The wise old man discussed the significance of experiences in our personal growth. He stressed the importance of having our own experiences rather than solely relying on others'. He used specific stories and instances to illustrate his points.

One of those stories was about mountain climbing. You'll never know what's on the other side of the mountain if you stick to the foot and keep asking people who returned from it. They'll share their experiences, but the true wisdom derived from climbing it and discovering what lies beyond would remain unknown if we merely listened to their accounts.
This means that true wisdom can only be attained through one's own life experiences.
Listening to others and reading books may act as good guards, but they might not fit all situations in our lives.

That particular podcast changed me and gave me a different view of podcasts. I began to pay attention to the podcast I listened to and even bought a notebook where I wrote down what I learnt.





Screenshot from Podcasts app


So far, I've subscribed to numerous channels and downloaded countless series. One of my favourites is the Good Life Project due to its diversity. It covers physical well-being, mental health, and emotional wellness. Leading a good life is crucial for success because desiring success isn't enough; we must also take the necessary actions. Life is a journey, and how we navigate it is more significant than the final destination. Maintaining good health, a sound mind, and readiness for opportunities should be an ongoing project we never neglect.

My second favourite podcast is Bible Before Breakfast.
In this podcast, Mildred Kingsley aimsto connect our lives with the words of God. The last episode I listened to was about decluttering our lives. She emphasisesthe benefits of decluttering our minds, our space, and our social lives.
Aside from gaining insight on how to live simply, happily, and prosperously, I also got to like this podcast because it also motivates me to pray even when I don't feel like it. I don't only listen to it in the morning, but at night too. The voice is very soothing, as is the message; they work together to give me a peaceful night's rest.





Screenshot from Podcasts app


The third podcast on my list is the Moth Radio Hour.
As someone who loves story-telling, I draw much inspiration from listening to these podcasts. The stories are mostly shared live on stage, and they're unscripted. That makes it real and interesting.
Listening to it helps me create my own images of the story, boost my imagination, and lots more.


Screenshot from Podcasts app


There are also podcasts that don't resonate with me, like those focussing on building relationships with partners. I've realised that it doesn't bring many benefits. People are so diverse that relationship tips may not always apply, especially if you're the only one implementing them.
It takes knowledge to understand knowledge; if the two people involved are knowledgeable, then respect and other elements of a healthy relationship wouldn't be a problem.

I believe that improving myself in all aspects, understanding, and loving my partner is enough to get a relationship going; I don't have to use tips to force things, which may be disappointing if it doesn't work out.
Podcasts have significantly impacted my life, and I recommend giving them a chance.
Reading is good, but listening is much better. It gives our eyes some rest, especially from the screen light. In podcasts, you learn and discover new things every day without much effort. It helps one enhance his or her level of concentration. Now I can listen for hours without getting distracted by other thoughts. Podcasts work very well to keep my mind healthy; it is mentally therapeutic, and you should give it a try.


Image 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now