Jay's Favourite Podcasts

Podcasts were never really a thing for me. But then, I found On Purpose by Jay Shetty one day, and it connected deeply for me. And that's how it started to snowball for me listening to podcasts so regularly. Now, I'll say I have over five shows that I frequent every now and then.

IMG_20240727_121925.jpg

I consider myself a liberal person, open to learning from different perspectives and keen on getting better continually. I know books possess a wealth of wisdom, but I am not so easily drawn to them somehow. With podcasts, it's different, mostly because I can kind of do other things while I listen, but because I get to hear more than just words; there's more personality, contemporary perspectives, and sometimes conversations between two or more people.

The genres of podcasts that I listen to are mostly self-help and tech. And Spotify is where I listen to them. I found a way on my phone to avoid getting Spotify ads while listening. So, I listen for free, and it's convenient for me.

On Purpose

The first podcast I started listening to is On Purpose by Jay Shetty. I do not remember the first episode I listen to or how I found it, but it's the podcast I have the most listening time on. And the reason is that I have learnt to see life, people, and myself in new ways that can help me stay on the path of being "happier, healthier, and more healed," as Jay Shetty would put it.

Screenshot_2024-08-17-14-16-24-397_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

On this podcast, Jay shares profound insights and teachings across various parts of life, such as love, self-awareness, empathy, and the like. He often brings on other inspiring people to the show to discuss certain topics and have thoughtful conversations with them. More interestingly, too, his life exemplifies what he teaches.

Deep Dive

I found Ali Abdaal from my brother, and after checking him out, I found myself surfing through his content and quickly putting him on my list of favourite creators. He is a truly inspiring individual, and I find his style to connect very well with mine. I was mostly only into his YouTube videos until I found his podcast, Deep Dive.

Screenshot_2024-08-17-14-17-16-071_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

Being a productivity expert and an individual with a strong personal brand, he shares really good advice that is truly helpful. And he usually has one successful person and the other to have discussions with. The many people that he has had on his podcast—many of them billionaires and CEOs—have managed to keep me inspired to think BIG and remain dauntless.

Waveform

This is a tech podcast by one of my favourite tech YouTubers, Marques Brownlee. It's a tech podcast, and Marques hosts it with some of his co-workers at MKBHQ, his work building for his company MKBHD. And they all have conversations on different topics in tech, mostly trending ones about phones, PCs, tech companies and related ones.

Screenshot_2024-08-17-14-16-05-441_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

Other than reading tech news articles, I get a lot of insights on what's happening in the tech world, but more importantly, about what experts like themselves think about them. It all gets me fascinated and keeps me continually inspired about tech.

Decoder

Speaking of tech, I found this podcast some weeks ago while I was reading tech posts on The Verge. The first episode I listened to had Biden's top tech advisor on why AI safety is a "today problem." I loved that conversation, and I have tuned in occasionally ever since.

Screenshot_2024-08-17-14-18-11-469_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

Love Life

"Look for all of the attributes you want to find in a partner and be all of that" was the first thing I ever heard Matthew Hussey say on an episode of On Purpose with Jay Shetty. I listened to the entire episode, and I knew that I had to listen more to Matthew, and then I found his podcast, Love Life.

Screenshot_2024-08-17-14-15-40-774_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

To say the least, Love Life explores interesting enlightenment on relationships between people in love.

The Diary of a CEO

I was drawn in by an episode with a retired secret service agent, Evy Poumpouras. There I learnt about the versions of ourselves that we create, the true meaning of leadership from the perspective of US presidents, emotional balancing, and the influence of our past contributions on how people receive the next ones. And become interested in what more I could find in the podcast.

image.png

Screenshot_2024-08-17-14-18-53-811_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

Hosted by Steven Barlett, The Diary of a CEO has become one of my regular go-to podcasts to feel inspired by the various knowledgeable people with profound things to share.

Digi-vider.png

There are some other podcast shows I visit once in a while, like Modern Wisdom and The Vergecast, but these that I mentioned already are the ones I frequent. Inspired by the community's prompt for the week, here are Jay's favourite podcasts. You're welcome to share yours with us in the community or your reservations and inhibitions if you're not into podcasts.

Screenshot_2024-08-17-13-37-11-174_com.spotify.music-edit.jpg

Image credits: Thumbnail by Olujay, Other images are screenshots.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments