My Digital Guilty Pleasure : Scrolling through social media


image source

Back in the day, I was really into playing PES on my old phone. I would play online friendlies with my friends, and sometimes we even created a league with standings, just like in the Premier League or La Liga. But when I switched to my new Samsung A13 mobile phone, I realized it doesn’t support the latest version of PES even up till now. Since then, I’ve had to stop playing, and now, I don’t indulge in any video or mobile games at all.

These days, I spend most of my time scrolling through social media .

I can literally juggle and switch from one social media platform to the other within the space of 4 to 5 hours. I just kind of find pleasure in visiting these social media platforms that I mostly find myself spending much time scrolling through different videos, pictures and even tweets than usual.

One social media platform i love visiting is TikTok . TikTok is amazing because of how it tends to bring you videos based on what you're interested in at the moment. Whether I’m bored or just need a quick laugh or i need something to keep me engaged, I find myself going there to watch comedy clips, football highlights, and dance videos mostly from Nigerian content creators. It’s crazy how I can spend hours on TikTok without even realizing my data has run out. The platform just has a way of drawing you in, making you scroll through endless videos without keeping track of time.

Twitter, on the other hand, is my go-to app for pure entertainment, especially around matters involving football. I’m a big football fan, so I love seeing people troll players or debate over who’s better. It is normally exciting when players get dragged for their bad performances on the pitch over one game or several games, or when musicians post something controversial and the internet goes wild. It is really an app for cruise and banter and that's why I love spending time there.

Another platform I’m hooked on is YouTube. I’m a huge Nollywood fan, so I often visit different channels to watch and download Nigerian Yoruba movies and English romance films. Sometimes, I even find myself watching these movies late into the night, right before bed.

Another app I normally explore is Instagram. One thing I find pleasure in doing on this platform is going through different celebrities instagram pages to check their latest posts and sometimes to even see who they are following and who follows them . I remember one time I visited Joeboy’s profile and was shocked to see that big names like Van Dijk and Justin Bieber were following him. I didn’t expect that at all and immediately had to share it with my friends!

It's safe to say my guilty pleasures revolves around social media. It is where i spend most of my time and while I really enjoy these digital guilty pleasures, I often wonder if I could spend my time more productively. It’s actually very easy to get lost in these apps without realizing how much time has flown by.

Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments